Search is Over: Perfect Settings!

• Thread starter MinusB
  • 14 comments
Hello All,

I'm brand-new to this forum, but not to Gran Turismo. Since I was too cheap to get a PS2 for about 2 years after they came out (yeah yeah), I was stuck playing GT2 into the GROUND!! I came here looking for some advice for GT4, and found this part of the website... which of course rekindled my love for GT2 that I drove nearly to death!

Anyway, I've been a mechanic by trade, and a professional racing jetski builder in my spare time. As it is, I love the tuning aspect of the GT games, to which I can focus my talents and skills to extract every inch of performance for my driving style. Which, I may bring up, should - and most likely is - different than many other drivers. The settings I use are invariably different than what YOU will be comfortable with, yet are what I've found to give the cars the best control and lap times.

I started by keeping detailed notes on every setting I used for every car (with 99 cars, it can get tedious), as well as keeping notes on the cars' original settings and configurations. After I created a "best setting" for each car, I wanted to find a commonality between what I felt was a "best setting" and what the "stock" settings were for all my cars... and I found it. After tuning 99 cars, I got a quick feel for what they needed, and what was going on; and documented everything to begin comparison.

I found that - within a small percentage here and there - each car's tuning was changed to the same degree each time for each car. There's actually a formula!!!

For ALL cars, I purchase every single high-end part available in the game (like when there's 3 mufflers, just get the "race" one). And with the availability of 500,000 credits in one Gran Turismo All Stars race, why not? You've got enough money, may as well use it!

My formula: