Snap oversteer

United Kingdom
United Kingdom
Lord-Jonty
Hi all, total tuning noob here but trying to learn a bit. I have a ton of cars that drive really well for the most part but are prone to snap oversteer, often I believe as a result of elevation changes destabilising the car.

Is there a good guide or some general rules of thumb to tune this behaviour out of a car? Would softening things help (i.e. Natural Frequency and ARB)?

I don't mess with the setups, but my take on it is, it's just the nature of GT7 physics.
The slip angle is very small compared to other games.

I struggled with it too (and still do) when I started playing GT7.
With time you learn to keep the car outside of the "oversteer zone" and catch the slipups more and more.

This next advice falls in to the duhhh category, but IN CASE someone does not already know - Either (and/or) lift / countersteer / wiggle the wheel to settle the car.

If you’re experiencing snap oversteer. It’s best to have toe in fir bothering the rear and front.

Example: 0.10 in front and 0.30 in rear. This with promote understeer. Also moving ballast to front can’t help as well. Adding a big wing and alot of downforce can’t help too. Reducing ride height low enough will improve center of gravity which will reduce snap oversteer tendency.

Ride height, especially rear does well to help with this. Higher rear downforce, at least 100 more then your front. Lowering front downforce. Higher settings on front suspension.

If it's during braking, put braking bias to the front 3-5.

No one explains LSD Braking: Higher settings keep the differential ( both tires ) locked together, insync, together so the car stops straighter.

This is real settings. Not just two clicks up or down.

You need to understand how the LSD Works and how it affects the car for a start. Then suspension settings can come later.Just slamming it down as far as possible and having all the downforce available won’t make a car competitive,some will be undriveable.