Some Questions for a Design Personal Project

• Thread starter iName
  • 3 comments
United States
Southfield, Detroit
BroncoFLHX
Hello, I’m a transportation design student and I’ve started a personal project with #savethemanual as a topic. The idea is a vehicle that celebrates everything about a manual car, as they are on the way out. The brand chosen was Honda, and while this is primarily an interior project, the exterior will simply be a rebirth of the Honda City Turbo.

Small, affordable, and way too fun to drive. Everything will be designed with perfect ergonomics in mind. That said, I don’t drive a stick :dopey:

I have some questions that I want to ask y’all and feel free to answer as many as you want. Make sure you put the number of the question you answering so o can keep the data organized.

1. What is your preferred shifter knob shape? Circular, Cylindrical, Pistol-Gripish?
  2. If you can heel and toe, do you do it the Senna style by just tilting your foot, and swinging it out to hit the gas? If you do either of these detail the shortcomings of your pedals for it (too far apart, too skinny).
  3. Do you prefer the gauge cluster behind in the traditional spot under the wheel, or like the new style of the gauges above the wheel?
  4. What shape of pedal suit you more, rounded pedals or flat pedals?
  5. What if the clutch was floor mounted?
  6. Do you prefer lots of travel in the clutch?
  7. Do you push the shifter into 2nd, or pull it?
  8. Do you prefer short throw or long throw?
  9. Tall gear stick or short gear stick?
  10. What makes a manual special for you?
  11. What makes a really, really good manual transmission
Those are all I really need. Coming here because google wouldn’t direct me where I wanted to be.