Suddenly I find myself wanting a motorcycle...

• Thread starter CodeRedR51
  • 28 comments

CodeRedR51

Premium
United States
United States
Yet I have zero experience riding one. :nervous:

I know I will need to get a license, but would need to purchase the bike first as I don't know anyone with a bike to practice on. Have to do some research on this.

The main reason I am posting here is that I'm pretty sure which bike I want and I wanted to see if anyone here has experience with them. I want a street bike, but I do not want anything crazy fast, and it has to be smaller as I am only 5'6" and 135lbs. This has lead me to do some minor research, but everything I have come across on the internet is nothing but positive comments.

So, anyone have experience with the Kawasaki Ninja 250R? They're nicely styled, not crazy fast, get great mileage (50mpg+) and they're great for someone that is small like myself. The price is also nice, you can get a brand new 2012 model for about $4,000. I would have to purchase one new as I would need financing.

Any comments on experience with this particular bike would be appreciated. (Or just riding for the first time in general)

Yes! Another one joins the group.
The 250 would be a perfect bike for learning to ride street on, light, not much power, good handling, and cheap.
But if you could do it I would seriously recommend riding a dirtbike for a bit before riding on the street. You can get right to the limit on a dirtbike and if you crash you're only going 20-30 mph. It will teach you the basics about what the bike does under certain conditiions. Ie, rear wheel locked, or front wheel locked.
You would be much better off when you actually got to the street because you would have an understanding about what to do and waht not to do if you get into a corner a bit hot or something like that.