The Crossfire cup... a challenge?

I was browsing through the American manufacturers, looking for a new car, perhaps something different, when I noticed the "One Make" race for the Chrystler Crossfire. I think "no problem", and buy the car. I assume I'll be able to win the cup with no mods to the car.

The first race is Seattle reverse, rolling start, and we're off. It's a nice car for 214 hp, but a little sluggish through the turns. I push, and push, but can't seem to come off the corners with any speed, and finish third.

Now, the easy thing to do would be buy some horsepower and get it over with, right? Not gonna happen.

The problem was, I'd left the ASM on. So I set both ASM's to zero, and the TCS to two, and try again. The car leaps out of the corners now, and I win by several seconds.

Well- there's your proof that ASM is a fancy wet blanket. Went from third to dominant just by turning it off.

Race number two is at the Motegi Super Speedway. Coincidentally, it's my first time on the Super Speedway in GT4. But, I remember it from GT2 and GT3, so it should be a peice of cake. Right?

Maybe for someone who can draft. I tried four times, and came up no better than second (and I was on the leader's BUMPER! So close!). Frustrated, I decide to come back to it later.

The third race, at Trial Mountain Reverse, I won by multiple seconds as well, on the first try. This car flies, in it's own way, for 214 hp.

Still no mods mind you, all I've done is turn off the ASM and set the TSC to two on a Crossfire I'd just purchased. That resulted in two dominant wins on conventional tracks (though only 60 A spec points each), but no better than a second place on the Super Speedway, after several efforts.

What gives?

Anyway, the moral of this story is, try the Crossfire challenge. The first and third races are a yawn, but the Super Speedway is a bit of a challenge, especially if you keep the car completely stock (not even an oil change).

Just thought I'd pass it along.