The red steering dot above your RPM....

• Thread starter shifty24
  • 8 comments
United Arab Emirates
United Arab Emirates
So I've been running under the assumption since I started playing the game that when the red steering dot reaches either side of the edges, you are at full lock. This is just not true.

I use a Logitech G29, and the red dot reaches the edge at around 45 degrees steering angle either way. Today in warmup for a race i spun out and i decided F it lets see what happens when I go more. I stopped the car and held the rear view on, turned until the red dot stopped, and then kept turning the wheel. Lo and behold the wheels kept turning as I kept turning my wheel, all the way till the lock stop stopped it and I had a lot more angle on the front wheels. I have no idea what this red dot is for but there is a hell of a lot more lock than what that red dot shows you!

I can't confidently say for other steering wheels, but if you use a logitech G29, try it, and you'll see what I mean.

TL:DR. There's more lock on the steering wheel than the red steering dot across the top of your RPM meter.

I posted this to someone else today;

I have noticed this as well (using motion controls). I only tested it when rolling very slowly and stationary. At high speeds, more steering input is required to make the dot reach 'full lock' and I haven't noticed any difference in steering angle when turning the controller past that point. I might be wrong though.

Haven't really paid attention to it to be honest. Is it maybe a lateral g indicator?
It's definitely not a G indicator. It goes in the same direction you turn your wheel/stick. A G indicator would go in the opposite direction.

Straight from the manual:

http://www.gran-turismo.com/us/gtsport/manual/#!/race/content02

number_13.png
Steering Angle/Gear Change Indicator