What is the most effective way to practice?

• Thread starter tedgreene
  • 9 comments
tedgreene
I'm a noob and want to be good at this, but I have a long, long way to go to be able to hold my own with you guys. My time to play/practice is limited so it is important that I make all of the time I spend playing most effective for improving.

I'm curious - what things helped you make the biggest strides in developing your skill?

Time trials? Driving with high powered rear-wheel drive cars that require precise throttle control? Or is it better to drive something with lower power and work my way up to faster cars? Is any one course better to practice than others? Is it better to spend hours on end perfecting one TT? Or is it better to split up your time among many different cars so you don't get too used to just one? What things have you done that made the most difference? Is it better to spend all time doing TTs for now, rather than racing? Or does racing have a place, too?

For a little background, I'm using DFGT, no assists other than ABS 1, professional physics, 1:49.4 and 1:36.9 on the TT.

I'm hoping some of the many super skilled drivers here can help me out. Thanks in advance for your input and suggestions.

He tedgreene,welcome to Gtplanet...

Well you asked the right questions there,

Timetrails:yes,best way to learn to get everything out of any particular car...

High power/low power:start with low power untill you master steering techniques...then move over to high power throttle controll class...

Courses:every course has its own technique so you have to learn to adjust to every one of their particular corners/setups/do's and don'ts....

Hours: practice is your friend...it takes everybody hours to get to the top....

Things to do:Thats different for anyone i guess...But when timetrailing,download a ghost from one of the top times and study their lines/throttle responses/braking points etc etc...