What is the most important factor of car in drag race?

• Thread starter Fj0911
  • 10 comments
Australia
Australia
What is your ranking of factors like the engine, weight of car, aerodynamic body or not, etc, in a drag race?
I am a year 11 EAL student in south Australia, this question is relate to my research program, it's like an interview. Do anyone wants to write down your opinion underneath? Plz!!

What is the most important factor of car in drag race?

First of all : grip! you can have all the power you want,without grip from the tyres that power is useless.

Spy.

Tyre grip, then torque, then peak power. For a car to be set up well it needs to be as light as possible and have as little drag as possible - if it's going to reach very high speeds it might also need to generate some downforce.

I would have to say perfect balance of all previous mentioned. Grip is important but not if you dont have power. And vice versa. There are a lot of aspects that need attention. You can have really fat sticky slicks and 1000 hp, that would cover grip and power however, if your suspension is not set up you will break something and or crash.

I have seen a foxbody mustang have too much grip and too much power go down the track and come back with only 3 tires touching the ground because the driver thought grip and power was the solution. He over looked stiffening the chassis and as a result, twisted the body of the car to a point that it was completely trashed.

So really, most important aspect is the balance of; power, grip, chassis strength, weight, and in high end drag cars, reliability of the parts.

Tldr; balance...

Last edited: