What's your Go-To Sim Racer and why?

• Thread starter Scotster
  • 3 comments
United Kingdom
United Kingdom
New inductee, massive petrol head and completely new to the high end sim racing game.

I've literally just splurged on a full Fanatec setup for my Vive/Playseat/Logitech (replacement) and I'm looking for suggestions on what to chuck at it when it arrives. My main hits just now are Project Cars 2 and, funnily enough, Euro Truck Simulator 2 (very therapeutic). I can't see past racing in VR, nothing has ever came so close to the real thing, and I can't wait to get a decent wheel setup to compliment the realism.

I've purchased Assetto Corsa, and all of the DLC, but I wasn't sure about Competizione at this moment?

Are there any other obvious choices to hit? iRacing would likely be next on my list but I don't know if it would be worthwhile due to the costs involved and my lack of actual game time. I'm a hobbyist, not a hardcore gamer, and I literally get an hour or 2 per week to actually race. i would likely be last every race, which would annoy me, and other than R&D I don't know if there is much more to the game?

Can't go wrong with Assetto, especially with your description of short bursts of playtime. Mods make the possibilities endless, but also you don't need to spend hours practicing one car/track to get good because the game encourages experimenting in single player more than typical league races (although you can also do that if you want).

Competizione is more esports focused, and content is limited to Blancpain stuff. VR is also a bit unoptimized from what I heard, though that will surely get improved with time. I'd say get it if you really love driving (physics is absolute gold, even compared to AC), but I'll leave the final decision to you.

Automobilista is also a great sim, no VR though and graphics may look dated (it's rFactor with all good mods chucked at it basically).