YLOD and changing to a new PS3

  • Thread starter Thread starter Diogo Gomes
  • 13 comments
  • 1,565 views
Messages
109
Portugal
Funchal
Messages
diogo
I've searched but I didn't find any good answer.

My old fat 60GB PS3 died today and thank God I had my save backed up in a flash drive. but I have my 6 bspec drivers in online mode and each had over 3 million cr. and I also have 5 cars in sharing mode. So my question is when I get a new PS3 tomorrow can I have my old drivers back or they will disapear? also what happens to my 5 cars that are set to sharing?

and what about the DLCs, will Spa and Kart Space be there too?
 
Last edited:
Don't know about first part but you can
Re-download the dlc's from psn purchased. And you gotta use the same psn login.
 
You can get both your 6 B-spec drivers and cars on display back if you're able(or permitted) to reconnect to your old account somehow on your new PS3, but take note that you must remember both your password and e-mail address you entered in creating your old account. At least you can reuse it if you just still know what you imput in the box for your e-mail address, no matter you have forgotten your password you entered as an enumeration of numbers and characters.
 
Yes you can reload all of your game if you have your username and password just click on old user or whatever instead of new user it will then ask for email and password hey presto back up and running your drivers will be still shared as should your cars. Just pop in your flash drive and load just make sure you have spent the time updating all of the game before reloading from flash drive.
 
About your B-spec drivers...If your backup contains the credits of your drivers, all OK. Otherwise you will loose these credits...:sick:
 
I read somewhere that you have to use the same PS3 login too (not PSN, but the login name displayed on the far left of the XMB). I think your save data is somehow tied to that name so it needs to remain the same.
This happened to me a few months ago when my 40G Fatty got YLOD, everything went fine for me except I lost all my photos and replays, But other than that the game was exactly the same as when I backed up, including online B-spec credits.
Also, DLC is tied to your PSN so as long as you use the same account you will never need to buy it again, just download it.
Good luck.
 
Thank you for your answers, yes I remember my PSN email and pass. I'm more relaxed now knowing that my bobs will be alive and my DLC will be ok. :cheers:

I guess this will be a long day of updating and creating thumbnails images for all my 1503 cars :ouch:

Yes you can reload all of your game if you have your username and password just click on old user or whatever instead of new user it will then ask for email and password hey presto back up and running your drivers will be still shared as should your cars. Just pop in your flash drive and load just make sure you have spent the time updating all of the game before reloading from flash drive.


I will try this
 
Didn't want to start a thread but, Which items are you supposed to back up, Game data and save data? And what about other games like Bf3...... And about What size memory flash drive do you recommend?
 
Didn't want to start a thread but, Which items are you supposed to back up, Game data and save data? And what about other games like Bf3...... And about What size memory flash drive do you recommend?

Just the save data, these files are relatively small, a couple of gigabytes is more than enough for a large collection of games. I use a lexar 32GB and my files haven't even scratched the surface of that.
On XMB go to Game - Saved data utility (PS3) - select file and copy - to USB drive - simples.👍
 
I got a new PS3 ans now I'm downloading the updates...... then I will install the game and then I will copy my old save to my new PS3.

After it's all done I will tell you guys what happened.
 
Damn I'm getting an error code every time I try to download the 380MB update (8002AE22)
 
You should try to use the data transfer utility. Assuming you can fire up your old ps3 one last time for the transfer.
It's quicker than redownloading all the updates for your games. And it essentially will transfer all data making your new ps3 a photocopy of your old one. All you need is an Ethernet cable to connect both ps3s.

If you do choose this route, you should delete all useless data to make the transfer size as small as possible. I had 100 gigs to transfer which took about 4hrs.
 
I've searched but I didn't find any good answer.

My old fat 60GB PS3 died today and thank God I had my save backed up in a flash drive. but I have my 6 bspec drivers in online mode and each had over 3 million cr. and I also have 5 cars in sharing mode. So my question is when I get a new PS3 tomorrow can I have my old drivers back or they will disapear? also what happens to my 5 cars that are set to sharing?

and what about the DLCs, will Spa and Kart Space be there too?

You will get all back with your savefile, notice this;
You need to make / open your same PSN account on the new PS3.
Put your savefile back, install all your GT5 stuff,
Then go online,to the PSN shop, and go to right above, the option,
already purchased stuff, select the GT5 stuff in the list 'already purchased' and install them.

if you got any questions, you can ask.
 
Back