My obsession with the Nordschleife.

• Thread starter FussyFez
  • 1,169 comments
United Kingdom
England
Over the past few years, Gran Turismo has provided me with the ultimate pass time.

The Nurburgring Nordschleife .

Just today I have done over 100 miles on the nordshliefe. Between the LFA nurburgring, mines BNR34 and F430 Scuderia.

I am a complete petrol head. My car gets new oil and filter every 3000 miles, and there is nothing I enjoy more, than wringing the neck of my B18 powered civic.

I am the father of a young family, and money is tight. I have not yet been able to get out to the nurburgring in real life, and probably won't be able to for the foreseeable future, so GT is my only option for sampling what I consider to be one of the most challenging stretches of tarmac in the world.

I am posting this, because, although I have run many hundreds of laps, I am still learning it.

Don't get me wrong. I know which corner is coming next, and I know where I am on the track, but it's the individual corners I am talking about.

Only today have I realised the fastest line for atleast 2 corners.

This is what makes the nordshliefe special for me. I thought I knew it half well. Turns out I am barely scratching the surface.

Even my absolute best times could come down by atleast a few seconds, if not a whole 10 seconds on some of the slower cars.

To take corners as fast as possible in some cars, is to literally be on the edge of grip, the edge of the track, the edge of traction on exit. Many corners require so much commitment to take even remotely quickly.

A friend of mine recently got GT6. He immediately fell in love with the audi Pikes peak courtesy car. I told him to take it to the Nordschleife and see what he could do. He was extremely happy to tell me that he managed a 8:53.xxx on racing hards with all aids off.

He wasn't as happy to hear that just yesterday I did a 8:4x.xxx in a standard CR-X on comfort soft.