Am I the only one who thinks the drifting in Shift2 is just plain wrong?

TwinTurboCH
I've been an avid drifter on games since before I drifted for a living and comparing GT5 to real life, I can replicate everything that is possible in real life in the game and vice versa, but in Shift I just feel like the car handles totally wrong.

I'm on a G25 in a VisionRacer rig and I've tried multiple recommended steering setups and I've got everything working nicely in races, but the drifting just feels totally and utterly wrong. The car handles close to correctly as the slide begins, but then it all goes pear-shaped, and don't even get me started on the way the wheels feels during a slide, ESPECIALLY on throttle.

Am I doing something wrong, or is this game just flat out bad at replicating drift?

No, Drifting seems to only work with controller, which is plain wrong. Second is has different physics for other events, which would make it wrong again. But maybe it's just me cause i expected too much from the most realistic racer ever.

Nope, it's pretty wrong. I'm hoping that if they get rid of the input lag it may become more manageable, but I don't have particularly high hopes. There's something funny going on in the drifting.

I just busted out the controller, put it on easy and smoked my way through that section. It was even kind of fun in a way, but it was in no way what I would expect drifting a real car to be like.

Damn, I was wondering if you would possibly be able to comment on Shift 2 drifting given that you are essentially the most reputable presence in the GT5 drifting forum/drifting irl, haha, but I guess this settles it, how disappointing...

Damn, I was wondering if you would possibly be able to comment on Shift 2 drifting given that you are essentially the most reputable presence in the GT5 drifting forum/drifting irl, haha, but I guess this settles it, how disappointing...