Analysing Setups

riptrewerrath
Wanted to say hello to all and tell you how much i enjoy the forums. I am a 47 year old veteran of GT1-5,GTR(2),Forza1-3,i-racing, LFS and many more racing sim-type games. I hope i am not stepping on the rules or a previous posting but i noticed alot of confusion concerning setups and where to begin doing setups...so i thought i would share my collection of tips.Hope it helps newcomers to the fun of suspension tuning!

Setup Reference Guide

A)Understeer correction
Understeer INTO Corner...*soften front comp. dampers
*soften rear rebound dampers
*softer front anti-roll bar
*harder rear anti-roll bar

Understeer MID Corner....*softer front anti-roll bar
*increase front downforce
*decrease rear downforce
*increase camber

Understeer OUT of Corner.*harder front rebound dampers
*harder rear comp. dampers
*softer front anti-roll bar

B)Oversteer correction
Oversteer INTO Corner....*harder front comp. dampers
*harder rear rebound dampers
*harder front anti-roll bar
*softer rear anti-roll bar

Oversteer MID Corner.....*harder front anti-roll bar
*decrease front downforce
*increase rear downforce

Oversteer OUT of Corner..*softer front rebound dampers
*softer rear comp. dampers
*harder front anti-roll bar
*raise rear ride height
*soften rear suspension stiffness

C)Basic suspension principles
If you increase overall stiffness...vehicle will become responsive
grip reduced over bumps and rough surfaces
resistence to body roll increased

If you increase front stiffness.....Induces understeer
Reduces oversteer
Front resistence to body roll increases

If you increase rear stiffness......Induces oversteer
Reduces understeer
Rear resistence to body roll increases

If you increase front anti-roll.....Induces understeer
Reduces oversteer
Reduces camber change in corners

If you increase rear anti-roll......Induces oversteer
Reduces understeer
Reduces camber change in corners