Assists - Traction Control, ASM and ABS

• Thread starter roytheboy
  • 34 comments
United Kingdom
Lake District
I'm fairly new to GT7 but used to race a lot with GT6. Back in the day it was standard practice among the karting fraternity that I used to discus Gran Turismo with, that we would all race with assists off i.e. no TC, ABS or ASM. So this is that way I have been working my through GT7, although I have read that ABS to 'weak' is a standard setting, so this is what I use. So as I am about to start racing online, I’m wondering how people race these days WRT assists. Does the lobby host set the rules? Is it still standard practice to race with all assists off? What should I be practicing with prior to stepping out into the big wide virtual world?

I'm using controller, so I use all the help I can get, TC: 3 ABS: Default ASM: On CA: Strong and all this is okay in online racing as well as far as I know.

I like the challenge of racing with assists off, but if it puts me at a disadvantage online, and if it's okay to race with them on, then maybe I should change the way I race. Then again, ABS has no down-side (as meekrab points out) but I believe that TC and ASM slow one down through the twisties. Does anyone have any notion of just how much it can slow one down if one is used to driving without them?

I like the challenge of racing with assists off, but if it puts me at a disadvantage online, and if it's okay to race with them on, then maybe I should change the way I race. Then again, ABS has no down-side (as meekrab points out) but I believe that TC and ASM slow one down through the twisties. Does anyone have any notion of just how much it can slow one down if one is used to driving without them?