Backwards Compatible PlayStation 3 - Should Sony Restart Production?

• Thread starter MSTER232
  • 57 comments

Should Sony restore backwards compatibility to the PS3 system?

• Yes they should!

Votes: 44 63.8%
  • No, they shouldn't.

Votes: 23 33.3%
  • I'm not sure...

Votes: 2 2.9%

• Total voters
United Kingdom
United Kingdom
MSTER232
PS3 =/= Xbox 360
Hey GTP'ers, I just wanted to ask an interesting question; should Sony restart the production of the backwards compatible Playstation3? I was playing Gran Turismo 4 today, and my Playstation 2 was constantly freezing while navigating menus and gameplay. At first I thought it was the disc, since it has been scratched a little but when I started playing older Gran Turismo games on it, which had virtually no scratches on them at all, the same thing happened. I think the laser inside that reads the disc is dirty or broken :dunce: .

I also did some research on backwards compatibility PS3's, and apparently at some point there was this download that you could get for free off the PSN store that allowed the PS3 system to play PS2 games. However, it was fake and it was soon removed from the PSN store (only PS3 consoles that were produced on or near launch day were backwards compatible). I love my PS2 games, and I still want to be able to play them. From my research I also found out that the reason that Sony stopped putting the silicone chip that allowed PS3 systems to be backwards compatible was to lower production prices and for the reason that they didn't want to keep dealing with old PS2 systems.