Best racing wheel and pedals for GT3

Discussion in 'Gran Turismo 3' started by LGT42, May 15, 2020.

  1. LGT42

    LGT42

    Messages:
    8
    Given that there are probably no wheel and pedal sets current in production that will work on the PS2 I am looking for recommendations on a used wheel and pedal sets that one might be able to find on ebay or other web site.

    It is my understanding that GT3 supports 200 degrees of rotation.

    If you have an opinion on one or more wheel and pedal sets that will work well with GT3 I would like to hear from you on this thread.

    Thank you for your consideration.
     
  2. FPV MIC

    FPV MIC

    Messages:
    2,283
    Logitech Driving Force GT :tup:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Logitech_Driving_Force_GT

    LDFGT.jpg
     
    Zona and Raine like this.
  3. daan

    daan Moderator

    Messages:
    33,605
    Location:
    Scotland
    The Logitech Driving Force Pro is the best wheel for GT3.

    I don't think the DF GT does 200 degrees that the DFP can.
     
    Raine and GTveteran like this.
  4. GTveteran

    GTveteran

    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Scotland
    You've got a choice between the original Logitech Driving Force and the Driving Force Pro released for GT4.

    Either can be had with GT branding or without. The original Driving Force has blue rubber grip on the wheel and only supports 200 degrees of rotation. The Driving Force Pro is all black with a shift stick on the right and supports 900 degrees of rotation in GT4.
     
    Raine likes this.
  5. daan

    daan Moderator

    Messages:
    33,605
    Location:
    Scotland
    The Logitech MOMO Force was the wheel I used for GT3 and it was epic. Only 200 degrees but it was a better wheel for GT3 than the driving force was. The DFP only pips it for it's hardware stop at 200 GT3 and 900 for GT4. Solely for GT3, the MOMO Force is a better wheel.

    [​IMG]

    * Note the black MOMO Racing Force does not work with GT. Only the red MOMO Force works.
     
    Raine and GTveteran like this.
  6. GTveteran

    GTveteran

    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Scotland
    Thanks @daan, I'd never heard of that one.

    It looks better built than the original Driving Force (from that pic anyway). Is that the case?
     
  7. daan

    daan Moderator

    Messages:
    33,605
    Location:
    Scotland
    The Driving force felt like a toy compared to the MOMO Force. The MOMO had a much better build quality and the pedals were an improvement too. The MOMO was designed as a PC wheel but it just happened to work with the PS2 too.
     
    Raine and GTveteran like this.
  8. GTveteran

    GTveteran

    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Scotland
    I enjoyed using my Driving Force but I did always think it was a bit flimsy. I was pleased that they'd stepped up the quality, as little as they had, for the DFP when I got that.

    I still have my DFP and have never gotten a wheel for any of the later games, although I had been looking into getting one before lock down put a spanner in the works. I do keep meaning to get the DFP set up again so I will have to.

    Cheers for the info @daan. :cheers:
     
    Raine likes this.
  9. LGT42

    LGT42

    Messages:
    8
    Thank you for the responses and discussion. Really appreciate you all taking the time to do this. Helps a lot.
     
    Raine and GTveteran like this.
  10. 2_FAST_4_U

    2_FAST_4_U

    Messages:
    803
    Location:
    United States
    I’ve had and used my Logitech Driving Force “Pro” for many years for GT3-4-5-6 and haven’t had one complaint or problem. In fact, I bought a second one as a back up just in case as I have played retro GT3-4-5-6 exclusively.
     
    Raine likes this.
  11. Raine

    Raine

    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    United States
    I was JUST going to make a thread asking of this! I played GT3 with my DFP but there seemed to be random communication issues. At random times my wheel would star spazing out and stop responding when racing ruining races. It happened about 7 months ago, I was doing the Rome 2 hour and around 1 hour 10 minutes in my DFP randomly stopped responding and the car started revving like mad and I had to throw the race.:mad: Later I learnt that when that happens I just pause the game and unplug the DFP and plug it back in and it works but it was a pain when it would happen. The fear of anticipating that it might occur again at random left me in fear using it in harder races like the Pro Vitz race!:nervous: So if it is true that the original Driving Force GT or Momo Force are glitch free and most suited for GT3 I'll have to get one so I can play that again because I love GT3 it's super nostalgic and I love the menu music and presentation of that GT and the rallies are actually fun in that one unlike GT4.:tup:

    Off topic but man I hate old Phillips CRT TV's.. we all know CRT's make ringing sounds but geez my Phillips from 2002 is soo loud it gives me temporary tinnitus!:banghead: Needless to say I snipped the power cord and smashed it and threw it in the dump. I read good things about Funai SW2000 so I'm ordering that in a few days and the Momo or DF GT and starting a new GT3 file which sounds super fun. Right now I'm without a CRT TV again and I'm done with GT4 for a while I'm tired with that game from doing all the hard stuff and long races first to want to play it for a while.

    I guess I'll play my Final Fantasy V ROM on my PC until then.:)
     
  12. Raine

    Raine

    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    United States
    So it really work on a ps2 console??? Does it work on older fat ps2's like scph 1000-2000 as well?? I'm just confused as I don't want to buy something and have it not work.

    When you guys say the Driving Force GT is flimsy do you mean that the pedals are likely to snap and break before one playthrough of GT3 is completed or is it strong enough to last 100's of hours?

    Sorry for all the questions.

    EDIT: Sorry I'll never double post again..
     
  13. Raine

    Raine

    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    United States
    Sorry but how did you get so lucky with the DFP working on GT3? Every DFP I've ever used with that game randomly glitches out and stops responding every time I have to quickly countersteer or sometimes when I hit a wall and the force feedback kicks in glitching the wheels response. I then have to unplug and plug it back in. It's tiresome and I'm sick of it. Looks like GT3 is a lost cause for me unless someone can kindly answer me about if the GT3 specific wheel ever has issues like mine or if anyone has ever encountered the issue I always seem to.

    One simple response would be splendid.
     
  14. GTveteran

    GTveteran

    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Scotland
    How frequently does that happen?

    I think I remember something like that happening to my Driving Force GT but I don't think it was just very often. @daan would be able to say if the Momo Force had issues like that but I would say if you're not happy with the DFP, you should start looking for the Momo Force.
     
    Raine likes this.
  15. Raine

    Raine

    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    United States
    I ended up ordering a GT Force wheel.. the one pictured in the GT3 apsec manual! Since that one was designed exclusively for GT3 I doubt it will ever have glitches like that. Well at least my DFP has been behaving more reliably lately in three hours it only did it once last night thank goodness. I think it would mess up when both the controller and steering wheel were plugged in at once. So when I unplugged the controller and turned off the power and tuned it on again it was working fine..hmm.

    I am so confused! I seriously hope it doesn't occur when doing the pro league Vitz race or Avant Garde those races are hard enough as it is without even factoring random wheel glitches.

    I got all golds in only three days somehow. Now I'm just clearing up arcade mode.

    Thanks for the reply.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2020
    GTveteran likes this.
  16. LGT42

    LGT42

    Messages:
    8
    How do you like the "GT Force wheel" so far?

    Where do you think I might I be able to acquire one?

    Does it include mounting for table top edge or a rig?
     
    Raine likes this.
  17. GTveteran

    GTveteran

    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Scotland
    You should be able to find them on eBay possibly even Amazon.

    They do come with clamps for table mounting. My one also came with a device that sits on your lap with a bit that goes between your legs to grip with your thighs. It was handy for me not having a suitable table or rig.
     
    Raine likes this.
  18. Raine

    Raine

    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    United States
    Sorry for the late reply. I haven't got my GT# Edition GT Force yet it's still half way across the country sadly. I'll report once I get it though. I would like to point out that as usual the DFP I had totally crapped out on me when playing GT3 and the gear system in it absolutely failed to calibrate for any mode. I ended up junking it after many failed fix attempts. I'm never buying a DFP again next time I play a 900 degree steering game I'll get a g25(I used to own one and it was the best wheel I've ever owned) or a g27 or a g29, or something and use my GT Force for GT3 etc. Knowing my luck there might be something wrong with my GT Force too. It's like i'm destined to never be able to finish GT3 with a wheel set up geez. I contacted the Gt Force seller and he said it worked perfectly for him when playing GT3 so I suppose I'll take his word for it.

    EDIT I got my GT Force GT3 edition wheel today and it has no calibration or glitch issues at all. I like it.. finally a wheel I can use in peace with gt3 yess! I'm just trying to get used to having to use only padd;e shifters and the pedals feel softer and different overall.

    Good set up for gt3, highly recomended!
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2020
  19. LGT42

    LGT42

    Messages:
    8
    I got a GT Force wheel and pedal package with all the trimmings. Expect to give a go soon with GT3 once my component to HDMI converter and vertical stand for PS2 slim arrive.

    The cord on the pedal set is too short for my desktop mount setup. The connector looks like a standard telephone handset connector (4P4C)

    I wonder if I could you a telephone headset extension cord to extend the pedal set cord?

    EDIT: Ordered a 7 ft RJ9 to RJ9 flat cable and F-to-F adapter to try.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2020