DIY Sim Rig, thoughts and advice

• Thread starter TheRealSP
  • 7 comments
Wales
Wales
Hi, just getting in to sim racing and looking to build my own rig. I was just going to buy a cheap frame but for not much more I could just build exactly what I want.

Already have a Logitech 920 which will do the job for now. I've also started looking in to the transducers so have considered this in my build.

I've attached pictures of my plans (I hope it worked).

Just looking for opinions really, my main concern being the rigidity of the whole thing. Think I've put enough braces in to make sure it's sturdy but I'm no engineer! Monitor will go on a bracket attached to the wall so no concerns about screen shake and eventually I'll be getting VR.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Attachments

• Sim Rig 2 front.png
    Sim Rig 2 front.png
    31.3 KB · Views: 93
  • Sim rig 2 side 2.png
    Sim rig 2 side 2.png
    83.6 KB · Views: 95
  • Sim rig 2 side.png
    Sim rig 2 side.png
    35.7 KB · Views: 94
  • Sim Rig 2.png
    Sim Rig 2.png
    43.4 KB · Views: 91
Have you thought about where the screen is going? If it's on the wall it's going to be a long way from you. Perhaps consider mounting the screen to the rig as well?

Great mock-up by the way.

Yeah, the screen will be mounted on a swivel arm on the wall parallel to the rig (so not at the wheel end) so will be right behind the wheel as close as possible to my face lol

I've attached some pictures of the room with the monitor, as you can see space is a bit tight!

Attachments

• Room.png
    Room.png
    66.9 KB · Views: 43
  • Room 2.png
    Room 2.png
    62.9 KB · Views: 42
  • Room top.png
    Room top.png
    55.8 KB · Views: 40
Last edited:
Love the look of your plans!! Looks very cool... but,

Have you thought about going with something that has already been built and tested?