Encouragement for fellow newbs.

KaffeineKeiser
Gentlemen and Ladies,

Indulge me.

As I just had a major breakthrough in my F1 driving, I wanted to remind others that your breakthrough is coming too.

I am completely new to F1 racing, although I have been to Monaco, Valencia, Singapore and Monza, I was not a fan. (I am a big fan now due to Codemasters, but that's another thread)

Had driven some arcade racers and kart racers, I did buy the PS3 for my kid after all :sly: . Have owned GT5P for a while, even bought a Dual Force GT wheel and a WheelStandPro to go with it.

Still, the driving sims are daunting. Learning how to tune a car, memorizing tracks, keeping nerves in check, are all acquired traits. Come to these forums looking for guidance, and despite most folks being very helpful and giving with advice (advice like "Don't talk about Steve McQueen in the F1 thread!" :guilty: ) It can still be overwhelming.

Well I buried myself in career mode or "The Life" as it's grandiosely referred to. Put myself in cockpit view, as I realized that anything else is cheating (who wouldn't want the advantage of being an extra 1m higher to see further into the turns?) and started paying my dues in frustration and blisters. Yes I used some aids in the start, not my fault as I didn't know what the defaults were.

Got some advice on tuning from the local experts, thanks LeftyWright and Terronium-12, along the way. But basically hung-out in my own dark cave trying to crack the code of how to drive. Turned off all aids.