First bike advice?

You're crazy if you think
I can afford either of these.
Whats up GTP? For the past while I've been thinking more and more about getting a bike, and I'm to the point now where I just need to save up a little money to take the plunge. What do you think some of the best starter bikes are? I've thought about the Ninja 250, just found out there's a CBR250, and one of my buddies just bought a '98 Rebel 250 bobber.

I've sat on the rebel, and also another bud's CBR600RR, but really couldnt tell much from that.

Basically, I think I want a sport bike, or a cool looking cruiser. Looking to stay around the 250cc range because of my low price range (bout 1500 dollars) and I have no experience riding at all.

Cbr250r would be a good one but you may drop it. An older ninja 250r would be perfect and you could upgrade in a year or so for a 600.

I'm ready to accept now that I'll probably drop the bike, but thankfully with my pricerange, the bikes will probably come pre-dropped :lol:

Where are some good places to look for used bikes? I can find pretty much anything I want car wise, but bikes are a whole different world it seems

Lol, a 600.
If you value your life you won't get anything much bigger than a 250.
Any of the 250 starter bikes mentioned would be good.
And dual-sports are fun because you can take them off road.
A DRZ-400 or CRF230M/L would be a good starter bike.

Lol, a 600.
Any of the 250 starter bikes mentioned would be good.
And dual-sports are fun because you can take them off road.
A DRZ-400 or CRF230M/L would be a good starter bike.

I wouldn't step into a 600 with no other experience, I do value my life :nervous:

Are there any dual sports that are made which have a seat height closer to 30-31 inches? I have a 30.5 inseem, and all the dual sports I've seen have like a 35 inch seat height, which is far too high for my 5'7" frame my common sense tells me.