• Thread starter BryCivicSi
  • 31 comments
United States
Lexington, KY
bryphotoguy
BryCivicSi
banner.jpg

Class is now is session.
Are you curious how the sliders in photomode work? Do you want to achieve in game coloring effects? Do you want know how to motion blur your images like the pros? If so, you've come to the right place to get your questions answered.

First off, who am I?
I am a former photographer in real life. I have a BA in Photography and studied analogue based fine art photograhy. You remember that stuff called film and maybe people who worked in darkrooms and made prints? Yeah, that was me.

Why am I doing this?
For fun. I no longer shoot in real life. I don't even own a digital camera. But I do enjoy the photomodes in both Forza and Gran Turismo. These are certainly welcome features in my opinion. I am also doing this to help out those whole enjoy photomode and I want to help other photographers who want to hone their skills.

What tools do I use?
Outside of Forza, I use the basic Preview app that comes built into the Mac OS. Yeah, a little free program that offers just a slight amount of retouching. I will use Photoshop for special effects but only in very rarely. 99% of my work is done in preview. Remember, the tools don't make the photographer. :)

So, let's get to this. Below you will find links to my various "how-to" posts. Please leave feedback and if there is something you would like to learn, don't be afraid to ask. I will do my best to create as many how-to posts as needed. And if you've enjoyed this thread, please support me by buying a tune or car design from My Storefront in Forza 4. My XBL account is BryCivicSi.

Lesson 1: Aperture and Focus Basics
Lesson 2: Exposure and Contrast
Lesson 3: Motion and Color Effects

Lesson 1: Aperture and Focus Basics

Here you will learn how the Focus and Aperture sliders work in photo mode.