From real life to GT5: Update - 300 SL @ Ring

• Thread starter Cano
  • 35 comments

Cano

Premium
Mexico
Cephiro
Some people that wander off the GT5 section of GTP know me, I’ve been here for years and years, and many of them also know this, but for most people here I’m a relative new comer, so here are the facts: I work as a photographer for various car magazines over here in Mexico, some of my real-life work can be seen in my Flick account, which would be bigger if I remembered how to log in:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/bodecito/sets/72157625124682765/

So, when I found out about GT5’s Photomode, I approached it with a bit of a “yeah, right” attitude, but it turned out to be way more fun than I thought. It took a while to get used to it and discover what each thing does (specially because my game is in iberic Spanish, not latinamerican, so some of the translations are pretty odd), but I’m getting there.

Following is a sampling of the many pics I’ve taken now. You will rarely see a static photoshoot in location from me because, well, that’s what I do in real life, and frankly, even with all the potential of the Photomode, it isn’t even remotely close to the real thing. And most of the locations (at least as far as I’ve seen) plain suck. The plaza in which the little train passes by… heck, NOT A SINGLE CAR PHOTOGRAPHER would choose that place as a location, EVER.

I much prefer taking in-race pictures. Don’t think wrong, I also do track duty as a photographer and it’s way fun, but it’s way cooler what you can do with the impossible settings and placement of the GT5 camera on-race than what you can do at a static shoot, which is exactly what you can do in real life. Some of my track work can be seen in this Photobucket album:

http://s320.photobucket.com/albums/nn326/Bodecito/track days/Pachuca/