PS4 G27 PS4 , has anyone tried yet?

Discussion in 'Project CARS 1' started by SGETI, May 6, 2015.

  1. SGETI

    SGETI

    Messages:
    2,582
    Location:
    United States
    Now that the game is out, has anyone even tried to see if the G27 will work with Ps4?

    A quick answer will do. Before you jump down my throat saying all along the G27 would not be supported, some other wheels have not been supported on game titles and they do in fact work.

    Hoping for some good news.
     
  2. the_D_

    the_D_

    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Scotland
    At this point, I'd say don't get your hopes up :-/
     
  3. Johnnypenso

    Johnnypenso Premium

    Messages:
    28,465
    Location:
    Canada
    I also doubt it, but how funny would it be if someone plugged in their G27, brought up one of the Fanatec profile, and the wheel worked in the game?!:sly:
     
    DaveTheStalker, sk8er913 and the_D_ like this.
  4. the_D_

    the_D_

    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Scotland
    I never even thought of that, it's certainly worth a try.
     
  5. SGETI

    SGETI

    Messages:
    2,582
    Location:
    United States
    That is what i am hoping for!
     
    sk8er913 likes this.
  6. Flaco13

    Flaco13

    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    Uruguay
    Wheel calibrates as you plug it in the PS4, and that's all it does.
     
    sk8er913 likes this.
  7. SGETI

    SGETI

    Messages:
    2,582
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you for trying. Not the answer I wanted but now we all know.
     
    DaveTheStalker, Flaco13 and sk8er913 like this.
  8. CyberOcelot

    CyberOcelot

    Messages:
    8
    Logitech no longer manufacturers racing wheels and therefore, no longer supports their racing wheels either.

    I own a G27 and was hoping for some support as well. I was also part of a change.org petition with over 10,000 signatures that did nothing. :(

    According to both sides (Logitech and Sony) some kind of authenticating chip is required for peripherals to work on the console. I believe Fanatec got its support through a software update (not sure. That's what I heard.)

    Unfortunately, the G27 is simply not going to be supported on PS4. I got Project Cars on PC solely because of a lack of support on PS4.
     
  9. Kjelliken

    Kjelliken

    Messages:
    58
    That sucks big time...
    How do they expect us to be loyal to them if they cant be loyal to us..

    I Guess I already have the PS4 but really.. now i need to buy a New steering Wheel as well... YAY for Sony and Logitech..
     
    ThatGuyouKnow and sk8er913 like this.
  10. sk8er913

    sk8er913

    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    United States
    I hope GT7 will support it.
     
    Kjelliken, Flaco13 and Gedi69 like this.
  11. sik180sx

    sik180sx

    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Australia
    Sony is not to blame logitech is,sony have already stated it's up to the third party to make drivers,if logitech don't wanna play the game it's not on sony's back.
     
    ONESPACE likes this.
  12. CyberOcelot

    CyberOcelot

    Messages:
    8
    Logitech has already addressed why G27 will not work on PS4 in 2014. It's not just a matter of updating a driver. Sony has moved to requiring an actual physical chip in peripherals for authentication / proof of license. Here's the issue third party peripheral manufacturers face with the PS4 as explained by Eurogamer's breakdown...

    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2014-11-05-whats-the-deal-with-ps4-and-xbox-one-steering-wheels


    This is, of course, not to paint Sony or Microsoft in a negative light. Due to some issues with consumers being cheated in the peripheral market with faulty cheap controllers made to look OEM, both console manufacturers have apparently done this to protect their install base.

    Hope this helps clarify.
     
  13. DarthMosco

    DarthMosco

    Messages:
    608
    it isn't true, T100,T500RS and all Fanatec wheels don't have the chip and they work in the game.
    the chip is only for the complete compatibility with ps4 menu/share function
     
    sik180sx and DaveTheStalker like this.
  14. CyberOcelot

    CyberOcelot

    Messages:
    8
    There's been no mention of the chip being solely for the UI. I'll do more digging, but I'm not inclined to call several official sources liars before learning more about how the authentication chip requirements were bypassed.
     
    Latin Avenger likes this.
  15. DarthMosco

    DarthMosco

    Messages:
    608
    that the devices don't need a chip for compatibility in the game it's a fact
     
    DaveTheStalker likes this.
  16. CyberOcelot

    CyberOcelot

    Messages:
    8
    Can you please provide a source link so I can learn more on the topic?

    Thanks in advance. :)
     
  17. DarthMosco

    DarthMosco

    Messages:
    608
    T100 doesn't have it
    T500RS doesn't have it
    Fanatec wheels don't have it
    so it isn't needed for in-game compatibility
     
    DaveTheStalker and notanexpert like this.
  18. CyberOcelot

    CyberOcelot

    Messages:
    8
    That doesn't really say much against official statements from not just Sony, but third party manufacturers as well. Logitech isn't the only peripheral maker that had issues either. Here's another discussing the issues that MadCatz faced...

    http://www.playstationlifestyle.net...upport-authenticating-security-chip-required/

    Also, simply because you see some hardware working around the issue, that doesn't imply that every other peripheral can do the same. This is evident when you meet players like myself who use G27 on Project CARS, with full support on the PC side and have no issues.

    So yes, it is in fact needed for in-game compatibility for many peripherals. You can also spot Sony's regulation by looking for the stamp on new peripherals that say "Officially licensed" on the packaging which implies the chip is in place.

    As a side note, I personally would not trust a peripheral that bypasses the authentication methods Sony has imposed after the issues many experienced on the PS3 after the infamous 3.50 update that made MadCatz products stop working...

    http://www.gamesradar.com/mad-catz-...ollers-so-much-for-being-officially-licensed/
     
  19. DarthMosco

    DarthMosco

    Messages:
    608
    I give up, continue to think that the chip is necessary

    30/10/2013
    http://blog.us.playstation.com/2013/10/30/ps4-the-ultimate-faq-north-america/

    It needs only a new driver, as did Fanatec and Thrustmasters
    http://www.ign.com/articles/2014/10...veloper-creates-ps3-to-ps4-controller-drivers

    if some manufacturers (MadCatz, Logitech) are lazy or out of the console peripherals business they may very well make excuses
     
  20. CyberOcelot

    CyberOcelot

    Messages:
    8
    I have already linked you to where Sony themselves say the chip is required. Not sure why you're saying manufacturers are making excuses?

    I wasn't debating, I was asking you for source links so I can review where you got your information.

    Now that I see it, I think you missed an important part of my post that explains that, simply because some peripherals can work around it, it doesn't mean that all peripherals are capable of doing so. This is implied in the blog post link you provided from Sony.

    And, in Mad Catz case, a simple 3.50 update for the PS3 (not PS4) disabled those peripherals simply because they weren't "officially licensed" which, even in your link, the implication is made that this can occur.

    If, at any point in the PS4 life cycle, these updated drivers are used to make unofficial peripherals, Sony may impose a block on any unofficial peripherals and the Mad Catz issue returns. Mad Catz was still in business at the time.

    It is true that Logitech is no longer making or supporting racing wheels (which I've already mentioned), so there is no work around that will be made and there's no one that a games developer can contact to do so. But, as I stated, if no chip is required, don't you find it odd that G27 is completely supported on PC on an outdated driver but cannot be on PS4? And, how can you be so adamant that, those without the chip will continue to work in a year or two or five after we already witnessed how PS3's 3.50 update affected other peripherals?

    As a G27 owner this is not something I just decided to post about. I have supplied you with links throughout to every of my sources, and none of them were links that don't work, nor were they marketing blog oposts from the hardware manufacturer in question. And I'm studied in this BECAUSE I own a G27 and initially wanted the game on PS4 and was basically forced to purchase on PC due to lack of support.

    I guess we'll agree to disagree.
     
  21. DarthMosco

    DarthMosco

    Messages:
    608
    Source? Fanatec and Thrustmasters compatibility without the chip are the source
     
    DaveTheStalker and notanexpert like this.
  22. CyberOcelot

    CyberOcelot

    Messages:
    8
    LOL!

    OK... I guess I wasted my time giving you the sources needed to understand that doesn't matter. Noted. I won't make that mistake again. ;)
     
  23. DarthMosco

    DarthMosco

    Messages:
    608
    possible good news
     
    super_gt likes this.
  24. Tired Tyres

    Tired Tyres

    Messages:
    10,820
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Point 1

    Mad Catz. That was PS3 when a driver had to be via Sony. On the PS4 it doesn't. It's between wheel maker and game maker.

    Point 2

    http://gaming.logitech.com/en-gb/gaming-controllers

    They still sell them, so they are legally required to support them.
     
  25. Johnnypenso

    Johnnypenso Premium

    Messages:
    28,465
    Location:
    Canada
    Agree to disagree on what? The T500,without a security chip, works on the PS4, end of discussion. A security chip is only required for full functionality, the T500 needs a controller to navigate the menus, but the wheel still works as a fully functioning FFB wheel...without the security chip.
     
    notanexpert, Bluntified and Jump_Ace like this.
  26. gotdirt410sp

    gotdirt410sp (Banned)

    Messages:
    239
    I have a question will a gt3 fantech wheel mount on a wheel stand pro that was used for g27. I know I might have to make new holes, thanks
     
  27. HBR-Roadhog

    HBR-Roadhog

    Messages:
    6,318
    Location:
    United States
    I would think so. The Fanatec wheels can be bolted down. Like you say you will probably need different holes but so long as it is a flat surface and is large enough it should work fine.

    I think the bolt pattern for the fanatec is something in the area of 8"x4" or something close to that. 4 bolts in a rectangle. 6mm bolts I think, been a while since I mounted mine.
     
  28. Kjelliken

    Kjelliken

    Messages:
    58
    That would be Nice..

    But Now I ordered the T500RS just incase... :(
     
  29. gdmnd

    gdmnd

    Messages:
    30
    Beeing the happy owner of a g27 and pcars on ps4, I wonder have anybody tried connecting a pc and ps4, thus beeing able to use the g27? Having paid for the game on ps4, would one be allowed download an extra copy to a pc?
    I know I'm grasping at straws, but as many an old fart has learned, thekids know the darndest things... :-D
     
    DaveTheStalker likes this.
  30. SGETI

    SGETI

    Messages:
    2,582
    Location:
    United States
    I like the thinking of trying to solve an issue. Is this even possible? We need some techie to step in tell us, yes or no.
     
    gdmnd likes this.