Getting rid of understeer during braking (Skyline R34)

• Thread starter kotafey
  • 58 comments
Hi folks,

I've trawled through the forums and read several guides. My starting point was one of the settings posted by Duck, which I tweaked a little bit here and there.

On the whole I'm happy with how the car handles, except for one BIG problem. It seems to be very unforgiving during braking in mid-turn.

Before you all shout at me, I know that you're supposed to get all the braking done BEFORE you start turning, then apply steady power until the apex, then floor it. That's the theory, but I'm not an expert and occasionally miss the odd braking point or misjudge the speed slightly and need to make small corrections, usually by tapping the brake gently if it looks like I'm about to overshoot.

This was fine in GT3 on my Evo, Mustang, and even Zonda with the right settings - but after recently converting to GT4 it seems to be impossible on my shiny new Skyline, which almost immediately straightens out in mid-turn and aims for the nearest wall.

I presume this can be solved by shifting the brake balance towards the rear, but I heard this can have adverse effects on braking distances?

Or maybe shifting more power to the rear wheels to make it behave a bit more like an FR car?

Your advice is appreciated. Cheers,

- K

Wouldn't you want to shift the weight to the front when your brake so the weight will go on front wheel allowing more grip?

I've also used Duck's settings on the Escudo (the major Understeer one), and he used -2.0 Toe in the front. I've tried it, and boy the turning is good at a cornering speed.

Hi folks,

I've trawled through the forums and read several guides. My starting point was one of the settings posted by Duck, which I tweaked a little bit here and there.

On the whole I'm happy with how the car handles, except for one BIG problem. It seems to be very unforgiving during braking in mid-turn.