GT for Dummies

• Thread starter slowmotion
  • 7 comments
Hello everyone . I have been visiting these forums lately as a guest and decided to join now that i got a copy of GT5 P . Judging by most of the posts it seems the majority of you are hardcore drivers who would give Schumaker a run for his money .

I on the other hand am absolutely hopeless :dunce: . I am struggling just to qualify and even when i do it is usually a messy affair i.e i use the A.I as a braking device on most hairpins to keep me on the road at their expense . Thus i haven't even considered going online yet since that is obviously frowned upon :)

Anyway i am hopeing if anyone would like to give me some basic pointers since i have no knowledge of real life car physics and other stuff like that . If there is already a post like this for novice drivers please tell me wjere i can find it .

Currently i am using the analog stick to steer and the default controls . standard mode , bumper cam and automatic transmission . i also haven't fiddled with any of the other traction or braking assists .

Apart from general tips and hints i would like to know if :

1) should i ever use the handbrake

2) on daytona , is it better to take the corners on the inside , middle or outside .

3) for hairpins , what is the correct method . drift ? / brake to near standstill and then turn / brake and turn togeather ?

4) what is drafting ?

5) how close do i need to be to the car in front to get the benefit of a slipstream .

Thanks in advance . Any help will be greatly appreciated .

1. no
2.middle (in my opinion) you get speed(outside) and less mileage(inside)
3.brake till you have full traction, then go from outside to inside and when you pass the apex (middle of the turn) accelerate and dont brake to get out as fast as possible)
4.slipstream
5.when you dont hear the wind in your windshield.

1. no
2.middle (in my opinion) you get speed(outside) and less mileage(inside)