GT Sport Driver Rating and Door Number

Thailand
Thailand
Hey.
I am new to the game.
I've been searching the net for a comprehensive explanation as to how the Driver Rating is calculated (what races award how many points), but also how GT determines my door number in Daily races and in FIA races.

To make a specific example:
This week's daily race is on Tokyo East Outer Loop. Say my current DR is 'C' and I managed to put a time of 2:10.6xx on the tarmac. I am now matched into a lobby of mostly DR 'A' and 'B' drivers whose qualifying time is in the low 2:09:xx or even 2:08:xx.
My door number is '2'.

How on earth am I supposed to pull that out of the hat?

The same for the FIA races.
Brands Hatch track
mixed ability lobby
my quali time puts me into 16, my door number is '5', I finish 11 but lose DR rating, even though my race was overall clean... (a 2k drop to be specific, which actually dropped me from 'C' back into 'D')

Can someone explain the system in a comprehensive way, please? (like I'm 5?!) :P

Don't get me wrong, I've got massive fun playing and deeply enjoy the competitive races. Just want to find a way to understand how to advance and meet cleaner drivers.

The driver rating is based on a driver score. You can check yours by entering your PS tag at https://www.kudosprime.com/gts/stats.php?profile=search

Driver score is awarded based on finish position in sport mode races, NOT on how many positions you've gained. The following formulas are not mine but are alleged to show how the changes to your score are calculated at the end of each race.

For every car you finish in front of you gain:
80 - ((Player DR - Rival DR))/500)DR

For every car you finish behind, you lose:
80 + ((Player DR - Rival DR))/500)DR

So if you finish ahead of a player with a much higher score than you, you stand to gain a lot of DR points. If you finish ahead of a much lower rated player you will only gain a little.