Opinion: a long and boring post about the cardinal flaws of GT7 - overall a pretty good game that could be great

• Thread starter szejok666
  • 17 comments
Poland
Poland
Szejok666
To begin with - I have been playing Gran Turismo since 1998 and have spent thousands of hours in this series - so I think I can try to comment on what, in my opinion, GT7 has lost compared to previous games.

1. Probably the most important thing in a racing game - driving physics
Many of you probably think that the physics in GT7 are an evolution compared to GT6. In my opinion, the driving model in GT6 was better. Having played both games on same day, I think that steering in GT6 is softer, more nuanced and there's more feel to it. Suspension model in GT7 feels like downgrade (weight transfer feels barely present), snap oversteer is a problem and transition between gripping and sliding is not linear. Something is really wrong in this matter - it was updated quite quickly after release and many times after (at the game's premiere the driving model was really unfinished and often undriveable in my opinion), but it still feels as if the PD got lost and had no idea how to improve it - which leads to another issue, namely:
2. Tires or/and cars grip levels:
Back in GT6, I spent a lot of time comparing lap times and setting up in-game tires to match real-world performance. It was really well reproduced (at least for 1980+ cars) and after selecting the right type of tires (Comfort Medium/Hard/Soft for 99% of road cars in the game) and sometimes correcting the curb weight/weight distribution, it was possible to obtain very realistic lap times on individual tracks (in the range of 2-4 seconds on the Nurburgring and up to 1 second on Laguna Seca).