Pedal Setup

• Thread starter Thugin
  • 13 comments
Canada
Canada
Hey guys. I'm fairly new to the racing scene and am wondering how you guys use your pedals. Both feet on different pedals? ie; Left foot on brake and right on the accelerator? If so, are you using the pedals simultaneously to get the desired affect? Or do you use right foot for both the brake and accelerator just like in a street car? The reason I ask is; I am using the later, right foot for both pedals, but feel I am losing time when transitioning my foot between the 2 pedals.. Also, when watching the Lewis Hamilton reference lap video, it clearly shows his foot movements and he is clearly using both feet to control both pedals at the same time. Appreciate the input Gents!

Since I'm not a driver in real life it was easy for me to learn to drive with both feet in racing games and since there's no clutch why wouldn't I. There will be others who do the same and actual drivers too and plenty of others that only use the one foot for the accelerator and brake. Whatever works for you or comes natural is good, there will be fast guys who use both methods without a doubt, just like there are some who use the pad. ;)

For sim racing I would say always use both feet. I was driving for awhile the same way I drive on the street which is right foot for accel and brake, and left foot for clutch (if needed).

When I finally forced myself to use both feet on the sim I cut at least a second (and probably more) off my lap times.

Left foot braking especially if you're not using a clutch. The transition time going between pedals makes it difficult to use the brakes and throttle to accurately control weight transfer

Left foot braking especially if you're not using a clutch. The transition time going between pedals makes it difficult to use the brakes and throttle to accurately control weight transfer

This.

Being able to trail-brake in to a corner and, if need be, apply a bit of throttle helps shave lap time.