Seems like people are split, some do, and some don't get how the remote races work. Anyone complaining about leaving their ps3 on read this... it should help clear things up a little:
Normal remote races:
If you aren't using your driver locally for B-Spec, you can share him online.
Once shared you can't use the driver for regular B-spec, only the remote races (found in community). But then, even with your PS3 off, your friends can race their b-spec drivers against your shared driver. You earn $ and XP.
Server Standby Mode remote races:
This is what you have to leave your ps3 on to use. This allows *you* to start a remote race whenever you want from a web browser, against your friends shared drivers.
Either way, you log back in and unshare your driver when you want to use him (optional). But don't forget to cash in your rewards (found in the drivers menu of GT Life)