Tactile Review - Reckhorn 2.1 & BS-200 Kit

• Thread starter Scaff
  • 34 comments

Scaff

United Kingdom
He/Him
ScaffUK
I've been toying with the idea of adding a shaker of some sort to my rig for a while and have recently taken the plunge with a combination of the Reckhorn 2.1 Amp and BS-200 bass shaker. While not a well-known name in gaming / Sim-racing (in comparison to say Buttkicker or ADX), they have been around the AV scene in Europe for quite a while and have a good reputation for solid performance, in a plain package for a good price.

I bought mine in a kit which included the amp, shaker, mounting bracket and all the cabling I required for £185 (just under £200 with next day delivery included), I added a couple of 27mm Key Clamps and some 25mm chrome tubing to accommodate my preferred mounting location, which cost less than £10. Now I do want to state for the record that I am by no means an expert on tactile set-ups and the use of them with sims and rigs; I do however have a lot of experience with Home Cinema, Audio and AV systems in general. The following is my experience of dealing with this for the first time, you can certainly get a lot more complex that my first go, with rigs using multiple shakers and running software to further split out and balance the audio feed across specific shaker units. This is simply a first dip into a very big pond!

VIDEO COMING FOR ANYONE WHO CAN'T BE BOTHERED TO READ.

Set-Up