Thanks PD

• Thread starter Cssgareth
  • 60 comments
United Kingdom
England
cssgareth1987
I just wanted to start a little thread with my thoughts on what was revealed last night on GT7.

As a long time follower of GT Planet and it's forums it's pretty acceptable to say that a large portion of the fans of Gran Turismo were disappointed when GT Sport was announced as it was something never seen before on a GT branded game. The shift away from campaign mode left a large portion of fans feeling a little left out and pretty quickly PD shipped an update bringing in a simple campaign mode to appease the masses, myself included.

One of the largest criticisms of PD from the past was the fact that you could never know for sure if they kept their ear to the ground and listened to their fans. GT Sport showed a shift away from the walled-off PD into something that actually took feedback on board and brought features and cars into the game that people wanted.

As a business owner myself (of a development agency), I know how difficult it can be to shift from one way of working to another and I have huge respect for PD transitioning to a company that's more open and receptive to fans views. PD can never be fully transparent about what they're doing due to the nature of the game development; it takes the fizz and bang out of a game if you know everything about it before it's released!

I know there's a few thread flying around with disgruntled gamers saying it's nothing but a GT Sport + but personally, I want to say thanks to PD for listening and bringing back the Gran Turismo that the majority of us love.

Thanks for showing off Trial mountain on the game reveal, that's a really nice touch.
Thanks for bringing back a decent campaign mode
Thanks for bringing back proper car tuning, some of us used to spend HOURS tinkering with cars and this is a very welcome addition
Thanks for showcasing a much better lighting environment with better rendering of shadows and textures