top gear test track

Discussion in 'Tracks' started by Race_Fanatic_, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. Race_Fanatic_

    Race_Fanatic_

    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Finland
    You were able to drive the top geat test track in gt5 and then it was taken away for gt6. Obviously people who drive gran turismo are car entusiasts and car entusiasts watch top gear. Therefor it's very fun to go on the same track as they do and just testing cars, comparing lap times e.t.c.
     
    SuspeC76, SmokeyMR2, Yakup and 223 others like this.
  2. heymi79

    heymi79

    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Not necessary for me....There are much better tracks.
     
  3. Hamisxa

    Hamisxa

    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Ireland
    not gonna happen...
    Microsoft bought out all the rights for the track for Forza 5 exclusively
     
  4. GTMikeyKuhn412

    GTMikeyKuhn412

    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    United States
    Won't happen, cause Forza got Top Gear License.
     
  5. lGNAl

    lGNAl

    Messages:
    986
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    Get the rights for Dunsfold instead, and not TG.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2014
  6. Takata

    Takata

    Messages:
    76
    That is... quite a stretch of logic. o.o
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2014
    The Stig Farmer likes this.
  7. chevyisawesome

    chevyisawesome

    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Canada
    how did gt5 get it in the first place then?
     
  8. Hamisxa

    Hamisxa

    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Ireland
    Because Microsoft got the license in 2011.........
     
    epic_apri_39 and Urbanliner like this.
  9. chevyisawesome

    chevyisawesome

    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Canada
    Ahh, guess I'm going back to GT5 to play around on the track.
     
    mrnascar242424 likes this.
  10. Dr Fourtrack

    Dr Fourtrack

    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Shoot! Looks like I'm going back to GT5 for it too. Shame.
     
  11. chevyisawesome

    chevyisawesome

    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Canada
     
  12. chevyisawesome

    chevyisawesome

    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Canada
    sorry, I accedently messed up on that one.I'm sure you can figure out which part I wrote.
     
  13. meravigliato

    meravigliato

    Messages:
    20
    I played in GT5. I'm car entusiasts and watch top gear bit I don't like this track.
     
    elliot_GTIR likes this.
  14. chevyisawesome

    chevyisawesome

    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Canada
    Why not!??!?!
     
  15. starknight97

    starknight97

    Messages:
    353
    Its a good track its just how PD developed it is the problem. For example there was no option to use the whole track/airport as a speed testing or drag racing area or remove cones. PD probably don't know what the word option means.

    If it was to be implemented back into gt6 it should be just called airport track with no text based mention of where it is and put under the original section and say it was made up to avoid licensing issues and then update it later if they are solved.
     
    Fastcarguy likes this.
  16. galaia2004

    galaia2004

    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I also enjoyed the Top Gear track in GT5. Disappointed to find it not on GT6.
     
    JKgo and elliot_GTIR like this.
  17. Dr Fourtrack

    Dr Fourtrack

    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I like the No Name option. That sounds like the way to do it. Good thinking.
     
  18. PikachuRacer11

    PikachuRacer11

    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    United States
    A generic version of the Dunsford Aerodrome (Top Gear Test Track) would be something I would approve too, it'll please the Top Gear fans of GT without upsetting the rights currently held by Forza 5.

    If they do, they should also at least add the circuit race variants (almost similar to like what Forza 4 had, adding the drag strip would be a plus.):
    East short (Follow-through to Hammerhead - Start after Chicago Curve)
    West short (Gambon to Follow-through - Start at original starting line)
    High speed version (No Hammerhead Chicane or Follow-through)

    Also in the Hot laps, the cars should also start at a stop at the starting line (Similar to goodwood's hot lap)

    Forza may now own the rights for Top Gear content, but GT still has The Stig's official uniform in BOTH the Black-Suit and White-Suit versions (guess it was kept in GT6 because the suits didn't have "The Stig" in it's name).
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2014
  19. johnmaxmanoy

    johnmaxmanoy (Banned)

    Messages:
    319
    Also Drag Version.
     
  20. GTP_Jimbobo

    GTP_Jimbobo

    Messages:
    79
    They should add it back in to GT6, but take away all the invisible walls they had in GT5.
     
  21. BrunoI_SRE

    BrunoI_SRE

    Messages:
    171
    or copy the gt5 disk to your computer, extract the track, add icons and update the map, call it dunsfold aerodrome, release as an update!

    I would have done this ages ago, if only I was skilled enough.

    p.s. maybe one of you could...
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2014
  22. CeeJay

    CeeJay

    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    United States
    Yes yes! I don't care about licenses just bring it back but just make it a fun, no walls track. The cones, tight invisible walls and crazy invisible track lines you might accidentally cross that invalidate your lap made the track such a pain to TT on.

    (I know I have to care about licenses and that it's gone from GT forever but let a man dream.. :( )
     
    Harsk100 likes this.
  23. RACECAR

    RACECAR Premium

    Messages:
    32,250
    Location:
    United States
    That is not true, that is a huge misconception. The Top Gear license, including the Test track, is not exclusive to Forza 5. Just because no one else has licensed it doesn't mean its exclusive to Turn 10.
     
    GTP_Jimbobo likes this.
  24. Hamisxa

    Hamisxa

    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Ireland
    Well it's been licensed in GT5 and other games before and suddenly they dropped it because Microsoft bought Top Gear rights. Yeah definitely not because of that.
     
    Harsk100 likes this.
  25. RACECAR

    RACECAR Premium

    Messages:
    32,250
    Location:
    United States
    What other games? Name me another game, even prior to GT5, that had the license to Top Gear because as far as I can recall, no one did.

    Koeniggsegg isn't on GT. Does that automatically mean it is exclusive to Forza?
     
  26. stash

    stash (Banned)

    Messages:
    117
    This track was fun for dirty nascar but its not that great and Id rather they focus on other tracks
     
  27. Pootis

    Pootis

    Messages:
    1,148
    It's possible for it to come back if the contract between Microsoft and Top Gear / BBC expires.
     
  28. citroengt1

    citroengt1

    Messages:
    647
    Location:
    Croatia
    So even if GT5 got the Top Gear Test Track sooner then Forza, we can't have it in GT6 because Forza 5 made a contract with the BBC?

    I don't get it.

    So GT only had a license and an approval to put the track in the game, they didn't plan anything ahead for it, so that's why we don't have it now?
     
    lancia delta hf likes this.
  29. TopGear is BBC and as far as I know the Beeb can't offer exclusive deals when it comes to this sort of thing.

    TGTT is gone because PD wanted it gone; I imagine they saw what T10 did with their TopGear content and said "ooh-er, we haven't gone as far as this".
     
    JKgo likes this.
  30. NixxxoN

    NixxxoN (Banned)

    Messages:
    2,712
    Location:
    Spain
    I miss this track so much.