Your faith in Gran Turismo - has it been permanently damaged?

• Thread starter Razamataz
  • 395 comments
United Kingdom
London
azzabry86
So I booted up GT7 yesterday and checked the Legendary Car Dealership. Spotted the Mercedes 300 SL for sale at a little over a million and thought this would be something worth grinding for. But then having completed the Menu Books with only a smattering of events left to complete, I just thought I can't be bothered engaging with this pointless grind anymore. Racing the same event for meagre payouts, just to win a car there's not even an appropriate event to use it in. The GT7 experience just feels incredibly hollow and seemingly rather pointless.

I think a lot of us would agree the last few months have been a very trying time as a Gran Turismo fan. I've been playing the series since 2000 and have always admired and respected the work of Polyphony Digital. GT4 represented the absolute pinnacle of the series, only for a steady decline to occur with subsequent instalments. However the brand damage done by GT7 has seriously shaken my faith in the developer. I no longer believe Kaz and his team are capable of creating a compelling "game" any more. Don't get me wrong, the "feel" of GT, the driving in itself, is still incredible. But the "game" side is just sorely lacking and hopelessly outdated. Unlike Sport mode, the PVE experience is woefully unsatisfying with no sense of competition thanks to it's hopelessly outdated chase the rabbit AI.