Braking technique.

• Thread starter Biggles
  • 70 comments

Do you left-foot or right-foot brake?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
regarding the finals im using now the DFGT.. and im using left foot to brake all the way.. dont know why but i felt invited to use it looking at the pedals, with g25 the feeling is completely different for me :odd:

in 2 days i was able to reach 36.1 and 47.9.. :dopey: the FFB is also a bit different (i enjoy more the g25 FFB). now turn 7 seams much more easier with left foot braking and turn 11 too 👍 but im still finding the way to brake well at turn 1 and 8.. anyway im happy with the results.. i was afraid to get used with the pedals (G25->DFGT) but i think i got it :)

Last edited:
As you asked......

I had been driving in real life for about fifteen years, both manual and automatic as well as doing some carting before I got my DFP.

For some reason, the day I got the DFP it just felt right to left foot brake like a cart. I didn't do it to be faster and I didn't think about it so my guess is that it came from the bit of carting I did, but that's just a guess.

In real life I always right foot brake, even in an automatic. I'm unconvinced of the advantages of left foot braking as people like Rubens, among others, have proved you can be pretty fast right foot braking.

In the game I think left footer brakers may have a small advantage, but I'm not certain. I can't see any reason for me to change at the moment. I wonder if I'd change my ways if the brake had pedal had some kind of FFB in the game.......

As for gears, I've spent about 50% of my real life changing gears with my left and and 50% with my right so I haven't really got a strong preference.... perhaps I prefer the right a little as that's what I do the most at the moment.

To be honest though I don't find that current gear and clutch shifters anything like real life so I wouldn't use that in the game anyway.