Disc Golf

• Thread starter Max Powers
  • 36 comments

Max Powers

(Banned)
XBL: MelBlount
MelBlount
So does anybody here play? If you don't know what it is it's similar to normal golf except for with special frisbees that you throw, each hole has a tee-off area, fairway, and a basket which serves as the hole. I just started playing it this spring and I'm already hooked, I'm going to buy my own discs today (my friends have tons of spares, so I've been playing with theirs). We have a really nice course really close to my house too. My favorite thing about it though is that it's completely free, which is good for a poor college student like myself.

I'm not the best yet, but I'm certainly improving with every game that I play, especially in the area of driving, which used to kill me at first, but now I can get some pretty long, accurate drives. I usually finish a round well over par, but my number of pars each game is steadily improving as well.

I love frisbee golf! A couple summers ago, a friend and I went into town at night and made a course that went across streets, through parking lots, and over buildings. It took a while, but we finally came up with 18 good holes, and gave them all sexually-suggestive names. We played the course once, me being a few (strokes?) under par, him being a few over. It took too long, so we never played it again :lol:

You should try going to a real course then, it's a lot more fun and you don't have to map out the holes yourself. There's public courses all over the country and all the ones I know of in my area are free.

There's a great disc golf course in Huntington Beach, CA that my dad, my brother and I frequent during the summer. I think it costs $1 for a round, just for maintenence costs. It's a great way to spend a lazy summer afternoon.