Endurance Racing in Career

Discussion in 'Project CARS 1' started by Animera, May 19, 2015.

  1. Tired iron

    Tired iron

    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Canada
    He inhaled to much exhaust fume :crazy:
    Must be the same Bob that crash my car back in ver.2 at Lemans :boggled:
     
    Spooky Wooky likes this.
  2. paoloevans

    paoloevans

    Messages:
    1,860
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Great!! Thanks mate
     
  3. Filthywzard

    Filthywzard

    Messages:
    106
    OK I am no longer using flags and penalties during endurance races, just got to lap 103 of 121 and got DQ! All my fault though for missing apexes and cutting the track!
     
    Spooky Wooky likes this.
  4. Animera

    Animera

    Messages:
    2,431
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Round 3 of the US Endurance Championship, in a McLaren GT3.
    I reduced the race from 6 hours to 3 hours.
    It was a straight forward race with 40 minutes of rain about 1 hour into the race.
    An easy win and I'm now off to the WEC.

    Some screenshots from the race.

    234630_2015-08-25_00007.png
    234630_2015-08-25_00004.png
    234630_2015-08-25_00005.png
    234630_2015-08-25_00008.png
     
  5. Animera

    Animera

    Messages:
    2,431
    Location:
    New Zealand
    WEC GT3 round 4 at Sakitto.
    Bob driving in a thunderstorm at night.

     
    mister dog likes this.
  6. Filthywzard

    Filthywzard

    Messages:
    106
    Interesting, I thought the weather was fixed, I didn't get a drop of rain on the exact same race.
     
    Animera likes this.
  7. Spooky Wooky

    Spooky Wooky (Banned)

    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    England
    This may be something SMS have introduced recently, I restarted an invitational and it changed from cloud to light rain on the restart.
     
  8. rivoli

    rivoli

    Messages:
    16
    Weather in career no longer fixed? That'd be huge news!

    By the way, I just did the first race in my endurance career @ Watkins glen (scaled down to one hour), and it seemed as if the whole race was ran at a fixed time (all sunset). Is that normal for the endurance races, or did I just no set it for long enough?
     
  9. smilerftm

    smilerftm

    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    England
    Well I was winning, I was sat looking at my stupidity for a while before taking the photo

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    mister dog, ukfan758, Animera and 2 others like this.
  10. Stylie_

    Stylie_

    Messages:
    1
    Me and my mate have been doing a shared career on his pc. We are doing the European Endurance Series in the RWD P2. We finished last at Silverstone (we set the ai to high), we won at Nurburgring and hopefully will be doing the 6 HRS of Monza in a few weeks. If we win the P2 Championship do we get a WEC Contract offer i would like to know?
     
  11. mister dog

    mister dog (Banned)

    Messages:
    8,396
    Location:
    Belgium
    Nice to see a sample of multi class racing.
     
  12. Spooky Wooky

    Spooky Wooky (Banned)

    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    England
    I was looking forward to doing 2.4 hrs of Le Mans (the 24hr race with reduced time) in the new Aston GT this past weekend, but on the fridat I was deliberating on which car to choose (sat there flipping between cars for a good 10-15 mins) but hadn't actually chosen one.
    I launch into qualifying to find I'm driving the Marek LMP2. :( I don't mind LMP2 cars, just not ones that aren't real. I started the race and drove the wrong way into the pits with disappointment.
     
  13. fortbo

    fortbo

    Messages:
    3,858
    Location:
    United States
    So did they update the contract offers so we can use the e-tron for the WEC and the LM24?
     
  14. Spooky Wooky

    Spooky Wooky (Banned)

    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    England
    I've not long finished the 2.4hrs of Le Mans race in the Aston GTE (keep wanting to type Astra GTE, totally different car, google it) and the only major bug I had was the pit crew giving me the wrong tyres. Apart from that, the over aggressive AI ruined my race by hitting me, sometimes going off the track and ramming me as they force their way back on and causing aero damage.

    1st stint ruined after bad AI overtake on lap 3. Tyres aren't lasting as long as I had hoped, so pit in at the end of the stint requesting hards. Nope, they put another set of softs on.

    2nd stint was all in the dark. Difficult to keep concentration and by the end of it my eyes are hurting! Stint was ruined 2 laps in by a P1 car and a bad overtake. Pit in at the end of the stint, ask for hard tyres, get soft.

    I stop for a break here and watch a few laps of the Brno 12hr endurance race on the telly while having tea and crumpets.

    3rd stint and dawn broke, tyres not keeping temperature and a bad AI overtake caused aero damage again.


    In spite of all that I enjoyed driving the Aston so much so that I didn't save the results so I can go back and have another go tomorrow.

    Racing for a long amount of time is what I bought this game for, so knowing I can get to the end of the race without a game breaking issue is good enough for me.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2015
    ukfan758, JBF77, svenvangent and 2 others like this.
  15. svenvangent

    svenvangent

    Messages:
    1,467
    Location:
    Belgium
    So someone wants a cup of thee :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2015
  16. Spooky Wooky

    Spooky Wooky (Banned)

    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    England
    Easy tiger, I think patch 5.0 is only out on PC so far.
     
  17. svenvangent

    svenvangent

    Messages:
    1,467
    Location:
    Belgium
    Jups you've got a point there :O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O:O
     
  18. Animera

    Animera

    Messages:
    2,431
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Starting a GT4 endurance season. This is going to be fun!

    PCARS_GT1000.JPG
     
    Elitekilla29 likes this.
  19. fortbo

    fortbo

    Messages:
    3,858
    Location:
    United States
    Why won't it let me use the new LMPs for the WEC?
     
  20. Elitekilla29

    Elitekilla29

    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    United States
    Im in the WEC series as well and im in the LMP2 class. I just done my first muticlass race at the glen and had a blast.

    Btw for WEC series races, what length you guys run? 67% is the length im running currently.
     
  21. Animera

    Animera

    Messages:
    2,431
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I usually run on 100% race length.
     
  22. Fanapryde

    Fanapryde

    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Belgium
    +1
    Full length practice, qualification and races. Sometimes I skip till end of practice if my set feels good enough. Always funny to see how much faster some AI are as soon as you leave the track... :D
     
    Elitekilla29 likes this.
  23. Animera

    Animera

    Messages:
    2,431
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I've found that speeding up time instead of skipping to the end of the session is better.
    The AI normally don't suddenly do banzai laps when I speed up time.
     
    Fanapryde likes this.
  24. Fanapryde

    Fanapryde

    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thanks, could try that. But on the other hand, I don't care how fast they are in practice.
    No idea if ot happens in qualification also. I always run qualification at full length, no surprises then.
     
  25. Elitekilla29

    Elitekilla29

    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    United States
    Oh yea one more question, what do you guys have your time progression set to? In my first AEC race at the glen i had it set to real time but im thinking about setting it to 10x in the next race. It was an 2 hour race and it started late afternoon and ended in the evening.
     
  26. Animera

    Animera

    Messages:
    2,431
    Location:
    New Zealand
    My time progression is always set to 'Real'.
     
    Elitekilla29 likes this.
  27. Fanapryde

    Fanapryde

    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Belgium
    +1
    Real all the time.
     
  28. Elitekilla29

    Elitekilla29

    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    United States
    After having a a fantastic race at the glen i had a horrible race at Sonoma. First i got really loose coming out of the final turn on that track and spun and got ran into and had suspension damage. So i went to pit and i came out 7th of 8 after leading the first 30 minutes of the race. I got my way back up to 5th. Then i pitted and decided to let the AI driver take over until the next pit stop. Reason why i let him take over is because i felt like i had a headache coming. So he did a great job. Then i stated to notice he was running low on fuel so i notified him to come in so he can get fuel and also i was gonna take over for the rest of the race. He kept ignoring the call and eventually ran out of fuel and that was it. I simulate to the end. I was really pissed off. I guess that's a glitch or something because i kept letting him know to come in to the pits and he never came. Now im -18 points back from 1st going into the final race of the AEC. Im not swapping drivers no more. Unless it gets fixed.
     
  29. Animera

    Animera

    Messages:
    2,431
    Location:
    New Zealand
    It happened to me too at Sonoma. Bob refused to come in and ran out of fuel. At all the other races he is fine.
    In my endurance race at Sonoma all the LMP1's also retired.
     
    Elitekilla29 likes this.
  30. Elitekilla29

    Elitekilla29

    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    United States
    Yea i notice that as well. At first i thought they was getting fuel but really they just sat in the pits.