F1 2020 New Details: How "MyTeam" Works, Handling Model Updates, and More

Discussion in 'F1 2020' started by GTPNewsWire, May 13, 2020.

  1. GTPNewsWire

    GTPNewsWire Contributing Writer

    Messages:
    10,465
    Location:
    United States
  2. GOTMAXPOWER

    GOTMAXPOWER

    Messages:
    5,644
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    The most Codemasters news there is that one of the special edition cars is in the standard game (presumably the only difference being the number).
     
  3. MidnightRush

    MidnightRush

    Messages:
    93
    There's also another feature of drivers being able to retire and be available in the driver pool as well.
     
    ThePotatoKing and ZoomingZoomer like this.
  4. John G

    John G

    Messages:
    672
    I understand the push to add more features etc but a driver doesn't have to do any of that stuff, hiring a second driver, allocating resource to upgrade etc.

    Personally I'd rather just get on and drive, and have all that guff taken care of automatically, I don't want to play at motorsport manager. Might be an unpopular opinion, but for me anything aside from driving, even in career mode, should be optional.
     
  5. potvinsuks

    potvinsuks

    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    United States
    Well, it still might be optional in Career Mode.
     
  6. Auditore

    Auditore

    Messages:
    1,822
    Spend nothing on the engine to have enough money to hire Hamilton

    S T O N K S
     
  7. evldave333

    evldave333

    Messages:
    719
    I completely agree, they should put the resources into giving us historic circuit layouts... The issue with the career mode skill trees and management is that the upgrades have negligible differences to car performance, I'd endure the fluff if the car was noticeably improved. I particularly dislike the post race interviews you should be able to skip them meh... Hopefully there will be a streamlined championship to play.
     
    Gr8_Lakes likes this.
  8. MagpieRacer

    MagpieRacer Premium

    Messages:
    12,391
    Location:
    England
    So do driver career mode and just focus on the very basic elements. MyTeam is a separate career mode.
     
    Imari likes this.
  9. Gr8_Lakes

    Gr8_Lakes Premium

    Messages:
    1,724
    Location:
    United States
    With new consoles scheduled for release, and the lack of a real life 2020 season, I personally feel it’s kinda greedy for Codemasters to release an F1 2020 title. Aside from two new tracks (which I admit is no small change), it seems like CM is just fixing issues like the broken safety car and tire pressure modeling. Issues that could’ve just been addressed in a F1 2019 update.

    This may be an unpopular opinion, but this has been an unprecedented year. I’m certainly not dropping the full “new release” price of $60-$70 to emulate a nonexistent 2020 Formula One season. Mostly based on the hope that new consoles will allow for improvements in tire & handling physics, graphics, and what I’m most looking forward to: shorter load times. Aside from those things, I don’t see how anything featured in the 2020 game is significantly better than the 2019 game. To each their own, but I’m still happy racing in F1 2019.
     
  10. EngieDiesel

    EngieDiesel

    Messages:
    1,280
    Location:
    United States
    Considering the game started development months before we knew the season would be canceled, it doesn't make any sense for them to just throw all the time and money they've invested in it out the window because of unforseen circumstances. Plus they likely have a contract to make a yearly installment, so if they don't release it then it'll cost them even more money of top of that.

    I know Codemasters has done a number of very boneheaded things lately, but this instance is hardly a case of being "greedy".
     
    Crashbroke23 and Imari like this.
  11. Racing_Miku

    Racing_Miku Premium

    Messages:
    1,964
    Location:
    Scotland
    For me I think it's more important for Codemasters to release the 2020 game since we do not have the 'planned' real F1 calendar for 2020
    to remind us of what season we might have had COVID-19 not impacted so much on the real world and everyone's lives.

    I don't mind paying full price for the game and especially with the My Team feature being added to the game it also means we can make our own 2020
    season which I think is one of the reasons it was added to this year's game so we can have our own year in 2020 game.

    Plus in terms of collectors 2020 game will be worth something at some point in the future due to it being a 'complete' 2020 season and not the reduced one when F1 does restart in real life.
     
    Imari and Leovizzz like this.
  12. evldave333

    evldave333

    Messages:
    719
    There is a special deluxe edition for people like you...
     
  13. Racing_Miku

    Racing_Miku Premium

    Messages:
    1,964
    Location:
    Scotland
    I know! :)
     
    evldave333 likes this.
  14. MagpieRacer

    MagpieRacer Premium

    Messages:
    12,391
    Location:
    England
    The new ERS system is a lot better in practice I believe than in the theory of it. Using overtake/hotlap is extremely draining, can easily smash your ERS through in less than 3/4 of a lap, or less depending on the track (thanks to the way ERS is mapped). So although some of the supposed control has been taken away, it seems way more strategic than it ever has been.
     
  15. MikeV27

    MikeV27 Premium

    Messages:
    2,354
    Location:
    Canada
    This probably will never happen but they should let us map the ers deployment how we want it for a race like they do in real life. Drivers rarely do it manually for the entire race iirc, the last one I remember was Vettel in Canada.

    I use manual ERS (auto is trash) and it gets annoying switching back and forth every lap. I put it down to 0 in the twisty sections and anywhere from 3 to 5 in the fast parts. I’m hitting these buttons 30-40 times a lap at some tracks just for the ERS! I use the +/- buttons on the G29 because the red dial is not reliable.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2020
  16. MagpieRacer

    MagpieRacer Premium

    Messages:
    12,391
    Location:
    England
    That's pretty much how it has been done. The maps are custom for each circuit so we don't choose how we want it but the drivers don't have that level of control over it. The new system gives us the overtake button which will give good power gains but needs to be managed due to how fast it can deploy.
     
  17. PletdeKoe

    PletdeKoe

    Messages:
    1,344
    So will there be an option to disable the Halo while driving? I really don’t like the look of that thing. And preferably I drive in cockpit view.
     
  18. Hasnain282

    Hasnain282

    Messages:
    1,302
    There was an option to remove the middle pillar in 2019, don't see why they would remove it for 2020
     
  19. Magdelayna

    Magdelayna

    Messages:
    603
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ive seen early reports that the AI make more mistakes e.g. spinning out - which is something ive wished for!
     
    MagpieRacer likes this.
  20. Scaff

    Scaff Staff Emeritus

    Messages:
    24,620
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Just pre ordered it, first time in quite a few years for an F1 title, let’s see what it turns out like.
     
    MagpieRacer and slthree like this.
  21. Racing_Miku

    Racing_Miku Premium

    Messages:
    1,964
    Location:
    Scotland
    Well it's not long now till the game is released and my excitement is building though I have ordered a retail copy of the game rather than downloading it from the store so I hope my supplier manages to deliver it for Tuesday since I order the Schumacher Edition.

    Really looking forward to the game this time out as I'm finally going to take the time to actually play through the career and My Team parts of the game so roll on Tuesday next week!
     
    MagpieRacer likes this.
  22. MagpieRacer

    MagpieRacer Premium

    Messages:
    12,391
    Location:
    England
    Very excited for this. Pre installed the Schumacher edition. May not make it to midnight but the wife is taking the kids out tomorrow so I can have a good days racing.
     
    Scaff likes this.
  23. Dan Hill

    Dan Hill

    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Apparently according to the Race Fans website review, Codemasters have managed to include the revised Williams livery in time for the games release, although other revised liveries will follow at a later update but still a pretty good turnaround to get it done in time.

    Looking forward to getting my copy hopefully tomorrow.
     
    Scaff likes this.
  24. Famine

    Famine Administrator

    Messages:
    70,034
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    This is true - it was in the features video last week. However you'll need the day one patch (1.02) for it to appear.
     
    Dan Hill, Scaff and darth_tails like this.
  25. Racing_Miku

    Racing_Miku Premium

    Messages:
    1,964
    Location:
    Scotland
    I know they probably won't do it but it'd be nice if they kept the original Mercedes Silver Arrows livery in for use outwith career mode but I guess I'll have to do a few quick races before that update to show the original livery.
     
  26. MagpieRacer

    MagpieRacer Premium

    Messages:
    12,391
    Location:
    England
    To be fair to Codemasters, they probably would if they could. I believe I read as part of the licensing agreements with the teams, they have to represent the official race livery. Which in this case is the black one. If they reverted to silver for example halfway through, Codemasters would be obliged to change it back and the black one would disappear.

    I could be wrong but I'm sure I read that in the Codemasters forums.

    Edit: I think they update, within reason, usually to Monza before the visual changes stop.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2020
    darth_tails likes this.
  27. Racing_Miku

    Racing_Miku Premium

    Messages:
    1,964
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yes this makes sense, as I said I'll just have to do a few races in the Merc before the livery changes in game.

    At least both liveries are in GT Sport I think so I can still race the silver version when I'm in Sport.
     
    MagpieRacer likes this.
  28. slthree

    slthree

    Messages:
    734
    Location:
    United States
    Darth, how do those F1 cars drive in GTS? I'm thinking of re-downloading it.
     
  29. slthree

    slthree

    Messages:
    734
    Location:
    United States
    If a new livery is available, does that mean that the old livery is no longer available?