Good wheel for casual racer

United States
United States
Hey everyone,

Ive tried pouring over threads here and youtube and its left me more befuddled and with more questions than answers or i come across old information.

First off I am NOT a sim driver. I am a casual driver racing for fun on my PS5 and to enjoy driving. Im not going to invest thousands into a setup. Would I love a $1000+ wheel? Of course IF it gave me an advantage or alot better experience. However its not an option atm. Im an adult so those narrow seats of most setups dont work for me just like most gaming chairs dont fit me. I play GT7 because Im enjoying a change of pace from other games. Ive done various racing games through the years with various wheels, from the microsoft sidewinder to their ff wheel to the logitech g series.

Ive been using a controller since i started GT7 in December. I was doing some quick laps at daytona to get my daily in before the reset. It really highlighted the shortcomings of the controller as I couldnt hold a straight line through the corners with my 787B. In previous games with a wheel i had no problems with holding a straight line. Not to mention struggling with getting gold on various track experiences. I cant get the hang of using manual transmission with a controller. I thought about the playstation edge controller with the paddles underneath but then im back to the same poor steering inputs of the controller.

So im looking for a wheel and pedal setup under $500. I do have a stand that i used with my g920 on xbox that lets me sit in my recliner. I want something thats going to be reliable and accurate. Ideally id like to be able to use the left pedal as the brake as it stresses my hips to use a middle brake pedal thats so close to the throttle. I dont mind switching it over especially if I do a brake upgrade. I really dont expect to use or need a clutch as I use paddle shifters.