Gran Turismo 7's Car Models Use 500,000 Polygons Each

• Thread starter Famine
  • 51 comments
If they have the same number of Polygons since GT5, why they didn't use the old GT5 models?

Unless it is with different formats and not compatible or convertible.

If they have the same number of Polygons since GT5, why they didn't use the old GT5 models?

I’m no expert but I think it’s because of how the polygons are used. in GT7 the polygons can be moved to different parts of the car, depending on what is currently being viewed by the camera. (as mentioned in the article)

Last edited:
At some point you just get diminishing returns. It's all about efficiency on how you use those and how they're displayed in game and as mentioned up close retaining the quality.

Can't wait to see it all in action.
Indeed, I firmly believe the polygon race is over and it's more about rendering techniques, effects and resolution now.

Once you've hit 100% accuracy, that's it. There's no such thing as a 110% accurate model.
Absolutely, although we're a long way off 100% accuracy at the moment, but the real issue is diminishing returns as @alba stated.

Whereas in the PS1 to PS2 days it took just a few thousand polygons to make a substantially better looking model, if you doubled the polygon count from 500k to 1m you wouldn't likely see a model that looks close to twice as detailed now. But it'd take more work to make and more power to render.

So at some point you reach a point where you question if putting the effort and resources into more polygons is better than putting them into other techniques and areas which may provide a bigger impact visually for the same power.

Last edited:
Once you've hit 100% accuracy, that's it. There's no such thing as a 110% accurate model.
2132491-1555712-252150_gerstmann100_463_super_super.jpg