GT5 Tire Model

• Thread starter machschnel
  • 66 comments
machschnel
Just wondering if anyone can explain the GT5 tire model and it's limitations. Reading through a few threads (mainly F4 vs GT5 physics discussion) it seems GT5 is lacking a bit in it's tire modelling and I'd like to know more about it.

I've been playing Forza 4 for a few months now and whilst I love it, I refuse to buy another wheel (already own an G27). While the game pad experience is certainly excellent, I feel as though I could get more enjoyment out of GT5 and my G27 than Forza and a controller. My only concern is GT5's apparent lack of a tire model, so any information on the subject would be very useful.

Thanks in advance.

First, tire wear is completely wrong, in slow ff cars, it's fine but once you get into faster rwd cars, the tires wear too fast no matter the compound.

Second, tire compound in gt5 only act as grip multipliers and there's no deformation, this means that they give the same results for all cars, a slow hatchback can get the same g forces trough a corner as a mr supercar if both are using the same tires, you would think the solution would be either downgrade tires on slow cars or upgrade tires on faster cars, but if you upgrade, then you'll get too much grip, if you downgrade, you get realistic levels of grip but you'll get a car that's slower than it's real life counterpart when it comes to accelerating and braking,
it changes from car to car but with gt5's tire model, you get either too slow or too much grip.

Almost no production car is equipped with Sport tires. Exception - may be Enzo.
I use simple "Rule" :
- all my cars below 250 HP are equipped with Comfort Hard tires ( HONDA Civic, Toyota FT86 '12, MINI)
- below 400 HP are equipped with Comfort Medium tires ( HONDA NSX, Nissan 350, 370Z, BMW M3 '07, Ford Mustang, Dodge challenger, Chevrolet Camaro SS10 )