How much slower are you from the top dogs?

• Thread starter AlexDB9
  • 228 comments
Greece
Salonica
When I first got GT Sport I was more than 10% slower than the top times on Sport mode. Then on average I remember improving to 7%, then 5% and today I managed a 3.7% within the top time for the Mount Panorama Daily race. Still I'm chasing that elusive 2% that will require pushing to the limit.

What is your distance to the top times and progression?

I see you're a casual GT Sport player. Well then that 50 seconds means you casually just cruise around. Ever tried full throttle on straights? :dunce:

Around 5 seconds. The only difference between when I started playing the game and now is in how long it takes me to reach that gap. Before it would take me 4 hours of hot lapping to get within 5 seconds of the record times. Now I'm getting there within 2 hours of hot lapping. I usually won't race until I'm within 5 or so seconds of the record time. For the limited time I commit to this game that appears to be a good balance for me.

It really depends on the track. Not just in the sense that a five second gap at RBR is a lot different than the 'Ring: I mean I'm much better at certain tracks than others.

I was eight seconds off at the Nordschleife in the Evo X spec race a few months ago, which was enough to put me 62nd in the Americas (and 12th in Canada). But that's a track I'm very comfortable with, and road cars suit my driving style. Getting into the top 1–2 percent is possible if I put more than a cursory effort in — on GTS or FM7 anyway, but seemingly not other games :(.

Like @BallPtPenTheif I find the amount of time I invest versus my results ideal. I'd probably move a little further up if I used the wheel regularly instead of once in a while, and it'd likely take me less time to find my groove, especially in Gr.3 or faster. But that's prime living room real estate right now!