How To: Apply Racing/Sports/Comfort Tires on Dirt/Snow Track and Vice Versa! (+Pictures!)

Discussion in 'Gran Turismo 6' started by FrzGT, Dec 23, 2014.

  1. FoRiZon

    FoRiZon

    Messages:
    8,227
    Pretty old trick actually. But overlooked. Im shocked there is no thread about it yet.

    1. At the main screen, go to the car settings.
    2. Make sure one of your A,B,C setup has racing/sports/comfort tires installed. After that change to something else beside that.
    3. Go to the dirt/snow track.
    4. Go to car settings again. Then change the setup to that which contains racing/sports/comfort tires.
    5. Go race/drive!

    This can be applied backwards a.k.a putting snow/dirt tires on the road tracks.

    - The handling feels like what happen when you drive on the gravel on the road tracks.

    - For the vice nersa, there is some artificial grip made specifically for those dirt/snow tires.

    - Some cars has the rim changed. Some others does not.

    Pitcures:

    Snow tire on road with 15 Anniversary car:
    Silverstone The Stowe Circuit_2.jpg Silverstone The Stowe Circuit_3.jpg
    Dirt tire on road with base model:
    Matterhorn Short Track_5.jpg
    Racing tire on dirt with base model:
    Eiger Nordwand - W Trail_1.jpg
    Snow tire on the road with base model:
    Red Bull Ring Short Track.jpg

    Important note: After changing car settings, DO NOT click the "driving options"! It will revert to the correct tires. If you want to change driving options please do it before doing this glitch.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2014
  2. azidahaka

    azidahaka

    Messages:
    5,536
    This is funny :D

    Nice find!
     
    FrzGT likes this.
  3. MonGnoM

    MonGnoM (Banned)

    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    Nice thing, but what is "vice versa"?
     
  4. Mr Grumpy

    Mr Grumpy

    Messages:
    1,701
    It means the opposite way round.
    Both ways.
    Vice versa.
     
    MonGnoM likes this.
  5. Aphelion

    Aphelion

    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh wow that is amazing. But now that i know, i wish you hadn't made this thread, because what if PD fixes it and takes the 'bug' away? :nervous:
     
    SVPSkins, JKgo and FrzGT like this.
  6. Ridox2JZGTE

    Ridox2JZGTE

    Messages:
    11,646
    Will try :) I have always wanted to put gravel tires on rally cars/replica driving on tarmac :lol:
     
    Rotorist likes this.
  7. Thomas2012

    Thomas2012

    Messages:
    1,991
    Location:
    Australia
    Time for RS on snow! I'll call it racing snow!

    This bug reminds me of a bug you could do on GT4 where you could select any car to drive off road in arcade, ahhh fun times with the old Mercades wagons :lol:
     
  8. Kurei

    Kurei

    Messages:
    2,741
    Location:
    United States
    I'll have to check this out tonight!, been too long since I 'hooned' my beater-celica rally car around, this'll be a good opportunity to shake the dust off it. :tup:
     
  9. Aphelion

    Aphelion

    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Australia
    After some testing, it would seem that dirt tires barely help the cars drive-ability if you are driving on the dirt at big willow, and i also tried RS tires on Eiger Norwand K trail, and they felt almost identical to dirt tires on the same track. Odd.
     
  10. tankuroded

    tankuroded

    Messages:
    3,542
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Does it change the rims? :confused:
     
  11. Aphelion

    Aphelion

    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Australia
    yes.
     
    tankuroded likes this.
  12. dimassa19

    dimassa19

    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    Brazil
    Fantastic! Now i can see my original wheels on the replays!(not that ugly white wheels)...and is more close to real life...(i don't change the tires of my car when i go to the countryside) Thank you FrzGT!
     
    ukmalb likes this.
  13. ViscousTraction

    ViscousTraction

    Messages:
    3,080
    Location:
    United States
    I just tried this and it doesn't change the rim of the snow wheel. It only changes the tires.
     
  14. dimassa19

    dimassa19

    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    Brazil
    I just finish my first replay in the Eiger K-trail reverse, with my 370Z silver metallic with black rims...[sport hard tires]
     
  15. ViscousTraction

    ViscousTraction

    Messages:
    3,080
    Location:
    United States
    I don't know if it's that it doesn't work on snow or the car I was using (Premium Skyline R33 GT-R) didn't work properly, but I'll try it on dirt with the 370Z now.

    EDIT: Nope, still didn't work. It only changes the tires for me and still leaves the dirt/snow wheel model. I tried it with stock rims and aftermarket rims, but it still didn't work. I used sports hard tires also.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2014
  16. dimassa19

    dimassa19

    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    Brazil
    Really strange...Works fine with racing tires too...
     
  17. ViscousTraction

    ViscousTraction

    Messages:
    3,080
    Location:
    United States
    I tried comfort tires also and it still only changes the tires. I don't know :boggled:
     
  18. dimassa19

    dimassa19

    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    Brazil
    Oh...yeah...Not work with original rims...(i just try with a new one 370Z) You must to change the original wheels first.
     
  19. ViscousTraction

    ViscousTraction

    Messages:
    3,080
    Location:
    United States
    I put custom rims on the 370Z and after it only changed the tires I sized up the custom rims and it still only changes the tires. I'm just taking a wild guess, but maybe it's the US disc/download version of GT6 that is the fault.
     
  20. FoRiZon

    FoRiZon

    Messages:
    8,227
    Here some of the OP updates mainly for those who confused:

    - There is some artificial grip made specifically for those dirt/snow tires.

    - Only the 15th Anniversary and racing/tuner cars has the rim changed. The base model does not.

    Pitcure:

    15 Anniversary:
    Silverstone The Stowe Circuit_2.jpg
    Silverstone The Stowe Circuit_3.jpg

    Base car:
    Red Bull Ring Short Track.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2014
  21. dimassa19

    dimassa19

    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    Brazil
    I think that i find the way: install the racing brakes(i try with the all original Scion FR S and works even with the original wheels)
     
    BlameAuntJemima likes this.
  22. ViscousTraction

    ViscousTraction

    Messages:
    3,080
    Location:
    United States
    I'll make sure to try that :tup:

    EDIT: I put the race brakes on both tune sheets and it still only changed the tires only. I give up :grumpy::lol:
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2014
    dimassa19 likes this.
  23. dimassa19

    dimassa19

    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    Brazil
    This brings new life to my Subaru VIZIV VGT,(run with the beautiful original wheels in the dirt and snow to make better replays)
     
    Rotorist and Dave Beerman like this.
  24. dimassa19

    dimassa19

    Messages:
    2,707
    Location:
    Brazil
    Alright, just to finish...Some cars works, some cars don't work...Your Skyline R33 premiun don't work (i buy one to test)
     
    BlameAuntJemima likes this.
  25. ViscousTraction

    ViscousTraction

    Messages:
    3,080
    Location:
    United States
    Good to know :tup: I'll have to test some more cars then.
     
    dimassa19 likes this.
  26. Thematic

    Thematic

    Messages:
    2,709
    I used to have little interest but just now I thought to try dirt with lower grip. Unfortunately it doesn't seem possible, comfort hard was not clearly slower than dirt tyres. Setting: A110 '72 at Toscana.
     
  27. Mad Matt

    Mad Matt

    Messages:
    447
    I think you mean visa versa :-)
     
  28. Mr Grumpy

    Mr Grumpy

    Messages:
    1,701
    No mate I mean vice versa :)
    Visa versa is a common misspelling of the phrase.
     
    gkgamer likes this.
  29. Mr Grumpy

    Mr Grumpy

    Messages:
    1,701
  30. ViscousTraction

    ViscousTraction

    Messages:
    3,080
    Location:
    United States
    I finally got it to work :D

    [​IMG]
     
    gkgamer, JockeP22, 88GTA and 4 others like this.