NASCAR - 41.XXX @ Daytona Speedway

• Thread starter krautfed
  • 152 comments
KrautFed
Since noone likes to share NASCAR Speedway setups, I'll give out mine that will fairly easily crack 41 seconds at Daytona without drafting and using a controller (sticks). I am a complete noob and just started tinkering, but apparently it is semi difficult to get a car sub-42 seconds at Daytona and I've had many people online wanting my car (for it's setup).

UPDATE: 1-13-2011

CURRENT BEST w/o DRAFTING + TIRE WEAR + FUEL CONSUMPTION: 41.680

TUNER'S NOTES: This is pretty much a specialized tune because it is only useful at Daytona Superspeedway. Racing at Daytona is about four things in this order... 1) drafting 2) handling wrecks/bumps 3) pit strategy 4) solo speed. This thread addresses #4, the shear by yourself lap speed. Solo speed is very important in longer races (i.e. online) where going .01 second faster than an opponent can either let you catch his/her draft, or defend and not allow someone to catch your draft. I'll type more notes at the end of this post.

CAR: 2010 Jimmie Johnson #48 Impala (@892hp/1565kg) Like I said, I'm a noob and I don't know if the different NASCARs have different characteristics.

GT Auto / Maintenance & Service: Oil change... very important

BODY/CHASSIS: Purchase Chassis Reinforcement... very important
-Aero: 20f/40f (lowest settings)

EXHAUST: Titanium Racing (duh)

TRANNY: Fully Customizable (duh)
-Top Speed: 236mph (for no draft running)
-Top Speed: 249mph (for draft running)

DRIVETRAIN: Adjustable LSD
- 60/60/15

SUSPENSION: Full Custom (duh)
-Ride Height: 15f/15r
-Spring Rate: 18.5f/18.5r
-Extension: 8f/4r
-Compression: 8f/4r
-Anti-Roll: 4f/4r

-camber: 6.0f/1.8r
-toe: -0.15f/0.00r

TIRES: Racing Soft (but I may be working on a Racing Hard tune for those pit strategists)