Need Help: Celica XX 2000GT Drift Settings

• Thread starter Marius
  • 5 comments
Status
Not open for further replies.
Now I am a rookie drifter. I started drifting in GT3 shortly before GT4 came out. Up until now I have just used other peoples settings and gotten by with that. But I belive I have gotten as far in drifting as I can using other peoples setups. It is/was time to start making my own. But I am having some problems...

My Celica XX 2000GT drifts... OK. If I swing the thing REALLY hard into a turn it drifts great, but only on Mid speed and length turns. But this kills me on low speed turns and hair pins, it is too hard to swing this car in a intertia style drift (at least to the degree I have to do it) in low speed turns. And on high speed long hair pins it understeers really bad. The only place this car does good with my settings is in mid lengh mid speed turns and hair pins. This is my first atempt at making a drift setup and just need some pointers on where I am going wrong. Any input would be great.

Spring Rate : F 7.0 R 7.0
Ride Height : F 115 R 115
Bound/Rebound : F 7 R 7
Camber : F 3.4 R 5.7
Toe : F 0 R 0
Stab : F 4 R 6

Initial : 48
Accel : 48
Decel : 48

Brakes : F 8 R 20

If anyone can help me out with this I would appreciate it. I realize that these settings are probably very "jacked up"... But agian. This is my first try at making me own.

- Marius

Marius
Spring Rate : F 7.0 R 7.0
Ride Height : F 115 R 115
Bound/Rebound : F 7 R 7
Camber : F 3.4 R 5.7
Toe : F 0 R 0
Stab : F 4 R 6

Initial : 48
Accel : 48
Decel : 48

Brakes : F 8 R 20

Here's my generic start from here and tune accordingly setup...
(I've accounted for this car's weight and such)

Spring Rate : F 6.5 R 8.0
Ride Height : F +5mm Above lowest height; R +10mm Above lowest height
Bound/Rebound : F 6 R 6
Camber : F 3.0 R 4.5
Toe : F -2 R -2
Stab : F 4 R 4

Initial : 20
Accel : 25
Decel : 35
(You might want to try a 2-Way LSD instead)

Brakes : F 10 R 15