[PC] DCS 1.5 & 2.0 Open Alpha

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by terminator363, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria

    >>Free Digital Combat Simulator 1.5 Download<<
    (Link includes System Requirements)

    >>Download Open Alpha 2.0<<
    (Nevada)




    Let's fly online!​

    Useful Starter Resources (Su-25T):
    Available Modules: Modules Link

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Coming Soon:

    DCS: 2.0 Release
    DCS: 2.5 Unified Release
    DCS: Georgia T4 Update
    DCS: Straight of Hormuz Map
    DCS: Iwo Jima Map
    DCS: '44 North France Map
    DCS: P-47D Thunderbolt
    DCS: Spitfire IX
    DCS: F/A-18C Hornet
    DCS: F-14A Tomcat
    DCS: P-40F Kittyhawk
    DCS: A7 Corsair
    DCS: F4U-1 Corsair
    DCS: Saab Viggen
    DCS: Ho229 v4
    DCS: Bo-150 PAH-1
    DCS: F-15E
    DCS: Harrier
    DCS: EMB 312 Tucano
    DCS: Nimitz/Kuznetsov Carriers
    DCS: NH-90
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2016
  2. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    I have DCS A-10, but I haven't gotten into it yet.

    I'm sure it would be fun online, but I was so bored in the training, everything is so complicated.
     
  3. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    The A-10 is extremely complex, try out the Su-25T that came free with the game, it's not that difficult to learn in regards to the A-10.
     
  4. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    Is DCS World free?

    I only have A-10 off of Steam.
     
  5. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Yep, it's free off of their website, they have download mirrors/torrent in that link I provided.
     
  6. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    I'll give that a go.:tup:

    Maybe some of the experts 'round here can help me from becoming a twisted ball of metal fire in multiplayer.:lol:
     
  7. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Very Handy Su-25T Manual
    (The manual is slightly dated as it was created with an older version of DCS. Aka, HUD and odd instrument may look different.)

    Also, there are new "hands on" tutorials that were created in-game after the last update. Very very well made for beginners. :tup:
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2014
  8. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    The whole thing is less than a tenth the size of the A-10 manual!:eek:

    What part of the DCS World do you do?

    Tanks, fighters, strike etc.
     
  9. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Anti-Tank. Given that the Su-25T is actually my second favorite aircraft (first being the MiG-21). I've just been trying to master it. I haven't bothered flying anything else because I feel like new stuff always pops up in this aircraft that I never knew about! The odds are in my favor too - it's free that way. I'm thinking about picking up the Mil Mi-8 module next. I really like that ancient helo.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  10. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    Ah.

    What's the difference between the DCS A-10, and the FC3 A-10?

    I've been a bit scared off from helis because of FSX, I can't hover one to save my life.

    We should go tank busting sometime though.:tup:
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  11. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    DCS Guide to Modules:

     
  12. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    Ah ok, thanks.

    I love the clickable cockpit, it really is great.
     
  13. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    ...except for the Su-25T (the only DCS model without a clickable cockpit since it's free).
     
  14. neema_t

    neema_t Premium

    Messages:
    8,343
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I have A-10C, UH-1H, P-51D and the two standalone Flaming Cliffs planes; I'd have Black Shark 2 as well if I could redeem my code for it. Needless to say that since it's hard enough to learn a single vehicle I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing, but every now and then I'll pick it up to attempt to fly through a load of question marks and explosions. I got pretty good with the UH-1H last time I played, though. I think I ended my last session googling how I could DIY some of those Thrustmaster MFDs to add working displays inside them, but I haven't played for a while. Thank GTA V for that.
     
  15. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    :lol: That's me.

    I can fly just fine, but using the MFD's to input info and then mark targets and do all that other stuff in the A-10C is ridiculous.


    Oh...:(
     
  16. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    It's ok, there isn't that much to click on a Su-25T anyways :D. Definitely not like an A-10.
     
  17. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    Lol yeah, that's a good point.

    I find it a bit unnerving when the setup process is more complicated in-game than the computer that the game is actually running on.
     
  18. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    ^This, that has gone through my mind more than you could imagine :D
     
  19. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    That's why I like to fly a J-3 on FSX, I actually know what happens when I turn the big red thingy and pull on the black doodad.:lol:
     
  20. neema_t

    neema_t Premium

    Messages:
    8,343
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It is quite involved, but then you can actually use a real A-10C flight manual to learn how to fly in DCS... It's about as full a simulation as you'll find anywhere.
     
  21. LMSCorvetteGT2

    LMSCorvetteGT2

    Messages:
    22,480
    Location:
    United States
    I want to get into this, just wondering how...
     
  22. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Just make sure you have a joystick, then just watch the in-game tutorials and you're set.
     
    LMSCorvetteGT2 likes this.
  23. LMSCorvetteGT2

    LMSCorvetteGT2

    Messages:
    22,480
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks and I wont until tax season...I wont have a lot of things until tuition money and tax season sadly... Even then I wont have that much more. Either way sounds good and as an Aero Engineer major I obviously have an invested interest.
     
  24. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    My joystick (Saitek Cyborg Graphite) was $15 :D
     
  25. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    X52 HOTAS all the way! :dopey:

    Even if the stick is as floppy as a wet noodle, and using the Saitek software makes me want to kick kittens.


    The more I think about it the more it sounds like forming up into a flight online would be incredibly fun.

    I think it's time to get the rig converted back to flight...
     
  26. disinfected

    disinfected Premium

    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    United States
    I constantly log hours and hours with my Virtual Airlines in FSX and FS9. As an avid aviation fan, I am surprised I haven't checked these out yet.
     
    Swagger897 likes this.
  27. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    Quick question, should I download DCS World from the DCS site or from Steam?

    Edit: I downloaded it from DCS but it says that I don't have the A-10.:confused:
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  28. terminator363

    terminator363

    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    It's driver-less :D. It's very good for what it is. No problems with sensitivity/deadzone. It also comes with just the right number of buttons for DCS (minimal amount). And a happy hat switch.
    Go into your module manage. I forgot how to get to it as I don't currently have the game open but it's somewhere in the main menu. From there I don't really know what to do maybe enter a key or something. Best bet would be Google.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  29. Bopop4

    Bopop4

    Messages:
    8,100
    Location:
    Canada
    I think I have to have it installed by either DCS or Steam, no one part in Steam, one part in DCS.

    I'll just download the DCS Wolrd from Steam, thanks.:tup:

    Edit: Wait, do I need to download all the modules so I can play online in DCS World?

    I 'm wondering if I should just download everything from the DCS site instead of Steam.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
  30. eight6er

    eight6er

    Messages:
    1,101
    I have DCS A10-C and thought about getting into it a bit more, but I think I wouldn't be able to enjoy it properly without an expensive joystick, so I kind of forgot about it for a while as these flight sims can get really expensive. The main problem is how there are so many controls it makes me want a HOTAS Warthog, and I know I'll end up buying something like that if I get too into DCS.