Re think my whole set up experience?

• Thread starter smithdan78
  • 30 comments
United Kingdom
United Kingdom
thewispo
Well, I started project cars with very high hopes. I have been playing racing games for approx 20 years now. I grew my track knowledge endlessly driving around the gp tracks in the f1 series. Later, moving on to better simulation in gran turismo.

I found my all time favourite track was the nurburgring gp. The amount of laps I've put into it must run into the hundreds of thousands,if not more. So, I start off in the Mercedes gt3. I know the track so well,I'm literally going round like a machine with no thought.

I know every corner,and how far to push it. However, I seem to be having trouble with my set ups. And not just on this track. I joined an online race, and the best I could put in was leaving me at the back of the pack. Am I missing something here? Have previous games been a lie to realism and settings?

I do not think it's humanly possible for me to drive any faster round a track, without wheel spinning or facing a 360. Does anyone else have this problem? I'm seeing some ridiculously good times on this game. And im talking 5 seconds plus on what I can give. Where are these people finding the times? Would you say concentrate on corner exit speed? Entry speeds? straight line speed?

Any thoughts or hints on car set ups would be great, thank you.

I won't be much help but I'll try.
PCars relies a lot more on tuning, it is not really a pick up and play.
I personally am rubbish at tuning and finding a set up, so I find Pcars difficult.
Each car is different, so you have to tune to your driving style plus the characteristics of the car which you want to improve or iron out depending on your style.
I'm sure people here will be more helpful than me, I do try to tune but it is mostly pot luck with me.
There are tunes posted you could try as well.