Suspension Theroies R-Us

• Thread starter IamWSPro
  • 138 comments
United States
Columbus Ohio
TheOptimusKnight
I have been trying my hand at tunes. I have found a couple on this forum that are a good start. I had been getting very frustrated with GT6 whenever I start to tweak some things.

I just learned tonight (Im a Newbie remember) that when you soften spring its a LOWER number. 7 is a softer Spring than a 11.25... I had been thinking exactly opposite. NO Wonder why I have had some long nights trying to fix a cars handling. So I may just start to like GT6 once i get that info imbedded in my brain,,,,, however then you look at shocks. I hope I dont have that backwards...... A higher number on a shock means its a stiffer shock (wont compress easy)??

I really wish there was a graphic that showed how the 2 work for or against each other. Im a visual person and seeing higher or lower numbers on a screen does not make it click for me. Need Pictures, Video, Hands on type of stuff for my Pea brain.

So please holp me not hate GT6.... Give me any more Tuning 101, captain obvious stuff I can make sure I dont have backwards.

Thanks

High compress, hard to compress.
High extend, extends hard.

For speeds (which is what you see/feel), high compress (hard to compress) mean compression is slower, high extends (extends hard) mean extention is faster.

A-Roll bars works like comp. Train deformation is harder with high AR, meaning that the train will deform slower.

Notice especially for AR that a certain degree of freedom is needed for each setting to works, or you get the opposite result of what you need.