The Obsessions/Superstitions Thread

TyrrellRacing

Motorbase Performance
Premium
Wales
Wales
GTP_Tyrrell
Just watched the John Richardson documentary on 4 and I've come to the conclusion that everyone has obsessions to a degree. Although 90% of people who say "I have OCD", probably don't and are attention seekers.

Anyway mine include:
  • I must drink water immediately before going to bed.
  • Have to wash my hands with soap immediately before bed.
  • Hate when people touch raw meat and then touch furniture.
  • Have to go to sleep after midnight.
  • Everything labelled.
  • Never chew Extra chewing gums, only Trebor/Airwaves.
So, ridiculous things that unsettle you if you don't do them.

Last edited:
I hate when people leave time on a microwave. Like if you cook something, then take it out, and there is time left, CLEAR THE DAMN SCREEN!!!!!

Im a drummer, and i also HATE fat sounding snare drums. I understand there tonal qualities in the studio but almost every song i have ever heard with a fat snare drum, i KNOW FOR A FACT would sound better with a crisp cutting snare drum sound.

I can't think of anything too crazy for myself. With my ex however, screen displays had to be set in multiples of 5. TV volume, 10,15, or 20. Thermostat, 70 or 75. If I put it on 72 it would be changed back in an hour. Very strange.

Superstitions?

playing cards in house = bad luck

bottle of mercury = good luck

yep. this has been prevalent in my family for generations.

When I set the sleep timer on a TV, the time has to be within a few minutes of a minute ending in 0. That's really the only odd thing I do.

When going up to bed I must check if the door is locked by pushing down on the handle twice, then I'll set the alarm and push down on the handle another two times. Because obviously in the 5 seconds it's taken to set the alarm it will have become unlocked :lol: I can't not do it though.

I obsessively twirl my hair through my fingers if both my hands are not occupied.