Trail Braking in Gran Turismo sport.

• Thread starter Amon
  • 31 comments
Italy
Turin
Hi.

In the past ( from 2000 to 2008 ) i used to simrace very seriously with many Pc racing simulators. I first raced in, and then organized different championships with different sims. Starting from Gran Prix Legends, then Nascar 2002, Nascar 2003, and then GTR / GTR2.

All of them had one thing in common, speaking of driving tecnique. You had to master trail braking, and often in different situations you had to apply throttle while braking till the middle of the corner to kill understeer.

However, time has passed, and nowadays i'm a decent pilot in GT using gamepad as a control method. ( don't have space and opportunity to use a wheel nowadays ).

Age, kids, whatever.

Now comes the question. When i see fast lap replays, i always see going from braking to gas, but never use them both.

How do the fast guys achieve that ? Do they alter brake balance in realtime during the lap ? Watching Red Bull ring for example, we have uphill and downhill corners. Brake balance can't be optimal for both situations.

What's the magic ?

Thanks, and sorry for my English.

I can't answer your question, with my DS4 right stick for brakes and throttle, trail braking is not an option.

ps#1: Never be sorry for your English! Just think of how fluent English native speakers are in Italian, French, German etc... :lol:

ps#2: Tell your avvie that protective masks should be available almost everywhere by now (I know, it isn't funny, I take it back)

Hi.

In the past ( from 2000 to 2008 ) i used to simrace very seriously with many Pc racing simulators. I first raced in, and then organized different championships with different sims. Starting from Gran Prix Legends, then Nascar 2002, Nascar 2003, and then GTR / GTR2.