Gran Turismo 6 coming to PS3

My thoughts

The engine sound doesnt sound bad. If you are in front of the engine or near the engine its most normal that you hear the "VACUM" thing. but at the back of the car, even GT5 have good sound ( not the best but yea) you know what i am talking about.

GT6 Game looks very stable, nice Lightning and Shadows, new features ... Cant wait.

Last edited:
Didn't Kaz already say the GT6 engine was for the future? Given that they certainly knew about PS4 architecture in 2010 it would be absolute madness not to build a new engine to work on both.

Engines are hardware dependent, one or two for two consoles makes little difference. Chances are they developed both side by side as two separate branches off the same tree, so to say.

I'm no expert but what about the various engines that are compatible with PS3 and 360? Surely a new engine would have been created for both PS3+4 architectures in the same way as those? Or is that basically what you mean with your last sentence?

I'm no expert but what about the various engines that are compatible with PS3 and 360? Surely a new engine would have been created for both PS3+4 architectures in the same way as those? Or is that basically what you mean with your last sentence?

Not necessarily, those are usually monolithic engines with platform specific code. This makes them larger. Sometimes they're modular, though. PD aren't trying to provide the exact same product on two sets of hardware at once, so there is no need to keep everything in one place.

A lot of the code, algorithmically, will carry over, but the hardware is different enough to warrant separation of the codebases for flexibility. I'd say, anyway - no real expert either.

I'd been meaning to bring something up but forgot, with the crazy amount of stuff we've had to chat over since the reveal. Man, and they really didn't unveil all that much!