How good we be in real life?

I can't help watching F1 and other car races on tv and thinking that given any car there i would be so much better than most of those drivers. does anyone else think the same?

The amount of hours we put into gran turismo, perfecting racing lines, using different types of cars, our knowledge of setups, gearings, all that. we must be at least equal to some of the top people there... when i see people like villneuve crashing their cars all the time or coulthard not being able to finish a race, it just makes me think these peepz have been given their places because of their contacts and don't deserve to be there because there are plenty more people around who are better but don't have a chance to show their skills.

i went karting recently and not only did i win the races, but i lapped everyone there at least once (even the second place person), and i wasn't racing complete noobs either. and im sure that is almost entirely thanks to gran turismo, different controller but same principles. in fact it was much easier because of the excellent view and the feedback from the kart.

who agrees with me? :cool:

Well sure, when you accomplish something on GT3 you feel that you can compete with professionals, but you should remember that this is only a "simulator." Which means, this game isnt perfect, and you can get away with things on the game that you cant in real life. I'm not saying that it doesnt teach you anything, but most F1 drivers go through tough training just as we do. I just dont think "gold club" members can compete with real experienced drivers.